Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Illya Haase

Illya Haase

Reviews

Russell's Reserve Single Barrel "#18-439" (Rickhouse CN A, Floor 4) K&L Exclusive Kentucky Straight Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 10-23-2019
Russell's is one of the best bourbons you probably don't purchase! That my friend is a shame. Just from the first whiff of the Single Barrel 18 439, it pop's with the aroma of blood orange, cinnamon and caramel, to name a few good sniffs. The taste is warm, inviting and coats your mouth with fresh mint, tobacco and butterscotch! This is the perfect cigar bourbon. Sitting outside by a crackling fire, just taken in the slowing down time, finally enjoying the moment in this break neck pace that we all live in. That is what a Great Bourbon does.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

2017 Château de la Negly "La Falaise" La Clape Rouge
Review Date: 08-30-2019
I am not afraid of big wines! As one of my co-workers often says, "Illya likes fruit bombs." I do, but it must have balance. The "La Falaise" has that and more. Cocoa nibs, plums, and violets are the first things that greeted me. The palate is rich, supple and velvety, but with a great balance of acidity. It's the acid that keeps it from going into that one-note category of over-priced cult wines. Fantastic spice that lingers with every drop; and it finishes with integrated tannins of leather and earth. I will be sitting on my deck at night enjoying this and wondering why I can't see any stars. But, then I look down at my glass and the star was here along.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JD 95 RP 92

2016 Alpha Estate "Hedgehog Vineyard" Xinomavro Amyndeon Greece
Review Date: 08-21-2019
So, stay with me here: What if Nebbiolo and Gamay got together and had a baby? You would probably get Xinomavro! It shares many wonderful qualities of these two distinct grapes! Wild herbs and leather with that great mineral backbone of the Nebbiolo. The Gamay side gives it that touch of light, bright red berry fruit. It all comes together with enough structure to pair with some yummy Greek fare. This is definitely a grape you need to take a look at. Alpha Estate produced one of the best expressions I have had!

2018 Skouras Moscofilero Péloponnèse Greece
Review Date: 08-08-2019
I have yet to go to Greece, but I feel like the aromas in this glass bring me that much closer! Burst of white flowers, honeysuckle, and hint of sea salt lead me to the cobalt sea. Ample amount of palate weight and oily texture which will pair perfectly, as I wait for the fisherman to bring in the days catch. As I light up the BBQ I have almost gone through the whole bottle. Luckily, I have more on reserve. This is one of those wines that, with or without food, it is such an easy drinker. However, as I pop that first piece of octopus into my mouth, I know I have reached Mount Olympus. "Where there is no wine there is no love" - Euripides.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
W&S 92 RP 90

2017 Olivier Leflaive Bourgogne Blanc "Les Sétilles"
Review Date: 08-06-2019
Is it possible to have an everyday Bourgogne? Why yes, it is. Lelaive's Bourgogne Blanc "Les Setilles" brings all the things I love in an old-school Bourgogne white. The nose is wonderfully typical of what the grape produces in this region. Flint, florality, and stone fruit pop from the glass. Great acidity matched only by the weight of the mid-palate. A dance of lemon and peach, weaving in vanilla and cream. With a dazzling finish, that is complex and long. This is a serious wine with the title of Bourgogne blanc!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
JS 91 DC 90

Hillrock Estate Solera Aged Single Barrel "#143-A" K&L Exclusive Cask Strength Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 07-14-2019
Our friends at Hillrock pull off a very cool way of making a cask strength bourbon. They use the Solera method which is traditionally done in Spain and Portugal. Basically, one transfers a liquid from barrel to barrel, older vintages into younger vintages, etc, the oldest mixtures being in the barrel right "on the ground." In this case, you wind up with a great mixture of 4 year old to 13 year old wonderful whiskeys blended together. A whiff from the glass expresses a mixture of earth, vanilla bean, and cinnamon. There's a nice touch of heat with a complex blend of wood spice, sweet corn, and caramel. The finish is long and smooth with notes of butterscotch and brown sugar. If you are looking for an adventurous and fun gift for the bourbon drinker in your life...look no further!
Price: $139.99 Add To Cart

2017 Cantina Andrian Trentino-Alto Adige Pinot Grigio
Review Date: 05-23-2019
I am always on the look out for a new summertime white. Cantina Andrian Pinot Grigio fits that bill to a tee! Alto Adige makes some of the best Pinot Grigio around. I always find great elegance, mineral crispness and a pop of freshness. Pure citrus fruits, pears, apples and white flowers on the nose. Good richness on the palate which is balanced by that pop acidity, that makes for a truly well-structured wine. This would be great for any outdoor event or make your first course of the meal really sing!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

Four Roses Small Batch Select Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 05-09-2019
The Four Roses barrel selection is amazing. This special bottling will be the distillery’s first permanent product-line extension in more than 12 years. And boy, was it worth the wait! It's crafted from six Bourbon recipes OESF, OBSF, OESK, OESV, OBSK, and OBSV, with a 6 to 7 year age statement, and the seldom used F yeast strain. It imparts some very unique fruit and floral components. The candied fruit flavor is poised and balanced on the palate along with the warming spice bursting through from the heavy rye influence. This is a must have for your Bourbon collection.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart
WA 92

2017 Jacky Blot Domaine de la Butte "Pied de la Butte" Bourgueil
Review Date: 03-22-2019
I love how different wines express themselves in their own unique ways. Lately, I've had a fair share of people who come in and ask about our organic wines. I want to share some background information on organic wines and share some details on one of my personal favorites. An organic wine is a wine made from grapes that have been grown without the use of artificial or synthetic chemicals, such as herbicides and pesticides. To keep the weeds and pests away, organic farmers work with nature rather than against it. They do this by boosting their vineyard's biodiversity. By doing that, to me, one can really taste the "terroir" or the "where-ness" of the wine. The more complex the wine is, the more it will spark thoughtfulness and appreciation, sip after sip. With that said, a perfect example is this wonderful Cab Franc from Bourgueil. Intense cherry, strawberry, and violet notes shine through due to the vines being grown on clay and flint soils. Then, raspberry and spice evolve into leather and roasted meat which then fold into mineral undertones. All together, the intense fruit of red raspberries and black pepper marry perfectly with the leather notes, robust earthiness, and stony minerality. The finish bursts with a fresh, bright acidity that tingles on the palate. That's a lot of action for such a modest price. But, don't take my word for it...pick up a bottle (or case) for yourself. You won't be disappointed!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JG 92

2016 Mas Karolina Côtes du Roussillon-Villages
Review Date: 02-14-2019
I know it is easy to go to the grocery store and buy wine. But, I must tell you quality matters! Mas Karolina is one of those wines, that you will not find there. Our buyers search far and wide to come up with gems like this. At the the first whiff its intoxicating aromas lure you in. Blackberry compote, vanilla bean and violets dance in the glass. The taste is pure pleasure. Wonderful fruit of dark berries and a surprising splash of acidity. Good tannin structure and a long velvet finish. Once again, some much wine for the price. Trust me, you wont find this kind of wine in the grocery store.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2000 Clos du Marquis, St-Julien
Review Date: 01-15-2019
This was my holiday treat this year! What a treat it was. 2000 Clos Du Marquis, I feel, is drinking beautifully right now. Rustic, earthy with a nice balance of fruit to round it out. Big splash of cedar, cassis and cherry. This is very well integrated but still has some big grip and tannin. I would highly recommend a lamb roast be brought to the table. ​

2013 Bagueri Ribolla Gialla Slovenia
Review Date: 10-10-2018
Put Slovenia wines on your list of new wines to try. This Bagueri Ribolla Gialla is a great one to start with. In the glass it shines with a wonderful golden hue. It blooms with a bouquet of white flowers, lemon rind and gingersnaps. With an array of minerals and a surprising amount of palate weight it is a beautiful back and forth in the mouth. The wine is packed with notes of lemon, peach and chestnuts. The finish is full and lively with a gentle flavors of candied grapefruit, and vanilla. The wine will grace any table served with pan fried fish, oysters or even a lean pork loin. ​
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
DC 97

Antech Blanquette de Limoux Brut Nature
Review Date: 11-27-2015
This is as dry as it gets folks. Zero dosage. Which means outstanding acidity! Perfect for that signature cocktail at your holiday party. Did I mention bone dry and a amazing ability to pair with everything on the holiday menu. Keep a case on hand for all the events on busy holiday calendar.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
DC 90

Fluteau "Cuvée Réservée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-26-2012
One of the hits for me at our Champagne event was Fluteau! I love the cheesy and toasty notes that come from this champagne. Coming from the wine being left to age on the lees for three years. Notes of citrus and spice in a golden yellow hue. This will make a perfect Holiday wine! At this price you can give it out to all the family. This is a Champagne will are talking about here folks.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Carpano Antica Formula Sweet Vermouth (1L)
Review Date: 07-29-2012
One thing I learned in my twenty years of bar tending is. The better the ingredients, the better the drink. So, if you are making a Manhattan or one of those crazy whiskey drinks from your local mixologist. Keep the Carpano on hand. It make's any cocktail, ten thousand times better! You will not find a better vermouth!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 95

Scrappy's Grapefruit Bitters (5oz)
Review Date: 04-30-2012
It's citrus time at the Hollywood Farmers Market. There is nothing better on a lazy Sunday than a greyhound! This grapefruit and vodka cocktail is an ideal choice for a summertime brunch. The beauty of this mixed drink is in its simplicity. But, I like to spice mine up with a little Scrappy's Grapefruit bitters. It is that little extra that goes a long way!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Russian River Brewing "Blind Pig" IPA, California (500ml) (IN STORE ONLY - SF) (6 bottle limit per customer)
Review Date: 02-27-2012
This may be the best beer ever! But, one is enough: trust me.
Price: $5.69 Add To Cart
Limit of 6 per customer

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-27-2012
This is my kind of Champagne! Toasty, yeasty, and dry. The price speaks for itself! We are so lucky to get great champagne at sparkling wine prices!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 02-26-2012
This my friends is my go to Rose Champagne! Great acidity, intermingled with some bright cherry notes. Balanced minerality which is perfect for some salmon or Friday night sushi!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

La Petite Marquise Crémant de Loire Brut
Review Date: 11-25-2011
In our recent staff tasting for sparkling wines. This by far was top of the class! I brought it to start the Thanksgiving Day events. Deligeroy did not disappoint! It went perfect with the root salad!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Aecht Schlenkerla "Oak Smoke" Rauchbier, Germany 500 ml
Review Date: 03-17-2011
So, here it goes. I am German. Sso that would mean I should love German beer, right? The Aecht Schlenkerla "Oak Smoke" from Rauchbier was a little much for me at first. That is until I had it with its proper food: something highly seasoned and fatty, especially pork.
Price: $6.49 Add To Cart

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 07-29-2010
For me, one of the best finds at our recent Champagne tasting! It's off-dry, with beautiful fruit and a nice toasty nose. All this from third generation winemaking family whose holdings consist of 15 hectares of Grand Cru vineyards. The winemaking here is all about elegance and finesse and allowing the terroir to speak for itself and it shows.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WS 90