Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Sal Rodriguez

Sal Rodriguez

Reviews

Monkey 47 Schwarzwald Gin (1L)
Review Date: 08-27-2019
I can’t really say I am a “gin” person (whatever that means), but I know what I like when I taste it. This is it! This is what I like! I tried it ‘neat’ and really under-estimated what this bottle was capable of. Let’s start out with pretty flowers and juniper popping out of the glass! Another whiff and I was hit with jasmine blossom and orange peel! I didn’t have to take a sip to know that I was going to be taking some of this home. I took a little sip anyhow, and some of the loveliest spices, pepper, and juniper just washed over my tongue and filled my mouth. As I try to convey into words, what this gin tastes like, it is selling out from under us! Once you get the bottle home and into your glass, it’ll all make perfect sense.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Fallet-Dart "Grande Sélection" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-07-2019
Of all of the sub-50 dollar champagnes we have in stock right this moment, this is the one I'm taking home! Incredible vibrancy, amazing texture from it's seriously lengthy time on the lees, and some of the most elegant (fine) bubbles I've had in a long time. Although it's easy to consume, it's still a nicely complex Champagne that is filled with spice, and freshness in a lengthy finish. You can't go wrong with this as your party Champ!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Billecart-Salmon "Brut Réserve" Champagne
Review Date: 02-07-2018
If it has to sparkle, have superb quality and a big-house name, this is the wine to grab! I don't always drink name-brand champagnes, but when I do, this is the one for me! In my opinion, the Brut Reserve checks all of the bubbly boxes. Fresh, bright, crisp fruit, juicy acidity, lifted aromatics. Like many of my favorite styles of sparkling wines, it also has a beautiful nerve of mineral, but a counter-balance of sweetness of fruit to keep everything right where it should be. No national brand offers more for the money at, or near this price!

Billecart-Salmon Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 02-07-2018
The wine that Billecart is probably most well-known for is their rose and it's done very well. I usually choose blanc de blanc, or blanc de noir when I'm getting my bubbles on. Mostly because I tend to feel that rose' sparklers need a bit more time, after popping that top, to open up, and I just really don't have time to wait when I'm trying to celebrate! Get in my glass, and "get in mah belleh", to quote a favorite actor of mine. This needs no extra time to blow off the funk that can sit in the glass for a bit. It's pretty, fresh, and crisp, right from the start. High toned bright fruit really make this a fresh, lifted, wine to toast to any great occasion. Although it's quite dry, it still shines through with a nice measure of sweetness from the fruit. This is the sparkling rose to beat!

Baron-Fuenté "Grande Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-06-2018
An impressive Champagne by any standard! At this price, it would be hard NOT to purchase it by the case! Bright, fresh, and floral. The wine has a nice mineral tone throughout, and a citrus tone on its lengthy finish! A seriously incredible value!

Baron-Fuenté "7" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-06-2018
My favorite Champagne in the Baron Fuente lineup! You get the value that you've come to expect from B.F., but in this instance, there's a lovely richness, with a nice round texture to it. Lots of mineral drive, and bright acidity to help the nicely textured wine go a very long way. Beautiful, long-lasting savory finish!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-27-2017
Probably my most favorite champagne ever! When people call in asking for something delicious, fresh and easy to drink, and not a lot of money, this is the first thing I look for inventory on. I can always get behind this and know it will be a huge hit. This recent bottling comes across as a little more complex, with a little more richness than the last bottling. Don't get me wrong, it's still fresh, and bright, but there's a real mineral backbone to it. The mouth-feel is more substantial this time around and I can't help but think that it's growing into an even more serious version of itself. Incredible value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Four Pillars "Faultline" K&L Exclusive Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 09-29-2017
Wow! I try to refrain from one-word adjectives when writing a review but, WOW! The last time I was surprised by a gin was a couple years back, when trying the Monkey 47. Once again, I must have a bottle of this spirit! Extremely expressive citrus rind, orange blossom, and spiced orange candy on the nose. On the palate, it continues the refreshing citrus explosion and the slight bite on the palate begs you to mix it with a sweet vermouth if you aren't willing to drink it neat. I need this bottle and I'm going to be drinking it neat. This gin will satisfy all your gin drinking requirements and this price makes it a shoo-in for your home bar.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Bollinger "Special Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-06-2017
You don't get this fine of a wine without putting in a lot of effort! If I had to give a gift and it needed name recognition, and it had to be epic, and it had to be less than 100 dollars - This is it!! Intense, spicy musk, with a serious presence. Lots of weight and complexity to explore. Great minerality and plenty of apple flavors to enjoy. A perfect bottle of bubbly!

Siembra Valles "Ancestral" Blanco Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 11-23-2016
A colleague handed me a glass, and I inhaled. Light notes of fresh cracked pepper and lovely hints of smoke were prevalent. I asked if it was a mezcal because of the sweet, fresh, smoke. I found out it was a tequila (obvious now) but the fact that it can be confused for a mezcal, speaks of its smokey complexity. I usually think that the smokey flavors weigh down mezcal but this one remains fresh, bright, and intense. If you need a new tequila for your home bar, you have to consider this one - trust me! Cheers!
Price: $119.99 Add To Cart

Monkey 47 Schwarzwald Gin (375ml)
Review Date: 05-02-2014
I can’t really say I am a “gin” person (whatever that means), but I know what I like when I taste it. This is it! This is what I like! I tried it ‘neat’ and really under-estimated what this little bottle was capable of. Let’s start out with pretty flowers and juniper popping out of the glass! Another whiff and I was hit with jasmine blossom and orange peel! I didn’t have to take a sip to know that I was going to be taking some of this home. I took a little sip anyhow, and some of the loveliest spices, pepper, and juniper just washed over my tongue and filled my mouth. As I try to convey into words, what this gin tastes like, it is selling out from under us! Yes, the bottle is a little expensive, but once you get the bottle home and into your glass, it’ll all make perfect sense.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart