Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Miles Philippe

Miles Philippe

Reviews

2016 Leeuwin Estate "Art Series" Chardonnay Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 11-14-2019
This Chardonnay exudes the elegance of Burgundy, has the tenseness of Chablis, yet combines all of that with the purity of gorgeous orchard fruits of the New World. The usage of oak is masterfully integrated, and on this note I do not invoke "Burgundy" in a New World Chardonnay review lightly; the oak presents itself like it would in a wine from Montrachet. The fruit elevates the structure of the acidity, terroir, and oak to a class all of its own.

2017 Oakridge "Henk Vineyard - Block 864" Pinot Noir Yarra Valley Victoria
Review Date: 11-04-2019
A very pretty nose full of bright fruits, floral notes, and hints of earthy qualities gives way to a wonderfully juicy palate! Despite the concentration of fruits, this wine is lifted by a great presence of acidity that keeps everything laser focused. This wine can do it all; parties, dinners, hang-outs, you name it!

2018 Helen's Hill "Ingram Road" Pinot Noir Yarra Valley Victoria
Review Date: 10-25-2019
Crunchy cranberry is the name of the game here! With bright and fresh red fruits, this is a wine best enjoyed with some food. Anything that you would use a tarter and lighter style of Pinot Noir for, this will be a slam dunk wine to use for that pairing!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JH 94

2018 Helen's Hill "Ingram Road" Chardonnay Yarra Valley Victoria
Review Date: 10-24-2019
A fun sipper for warm weather! Bright lemon and ripe orchard fruits cradled by a lovely touch of vanilla, backed by a great acidic structure that will leave you wanting more.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JH 94

2007 Thiénot "Black Ball" Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-08-2019
This wine is all about the party! A flamboyant nose leads you into a luscious and soft texture filled with golden fruits drizzled with a tiny bit of honey for that touch of richness. Despite being from the 2007 vintage, the overall character of this wine is fresh and zippy, and would be perfect served during any festivity!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2018 Kloof Street (Mullineux Family Wines) Old Vine Chenin Blanc Swartland
Review Date: 08-04-2019
This is classic Chenin Blanc done beautifully! My favorite aspect is how richly textured the whole experience of enjoying a glass of this is; soft like honey. Tying everything together is a beautiful lace of acidity. Chenin Blanc lovers, rejoice!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2018 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 07-21-2019
Exotic variations of bright citrus fruits dance wildly on the nose. On the palate, the texture and weight of the fruits lasts just long enough before being cleared away by the awesome brightness of the acidity, leaving you with an edge of minerality on the finish. I'm personally very excited to see how this evolves over the next few years, but the youthfulness and vibrancy of this wine is such a pleasure now!

2017 Hartford Court Russian River Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-10-2019
This Pinot Noir has lots of lovely variations on rich cherries and raspberries. Add in a luscious texture, fine tannins, and a slight hint of freshly tilled earth, and you have a Pinot Noir that is one of my gold standards for the Russian River Valley! These guys produce beautiful wines ever year, so I'm always happy to enjoy any of their bottles.
Price: $29.95 Add To Cart
JD 95

2017 Ceres "Composition" Pinot Noir Bannockburn Central Otago
Review Date: 06-30-2019
A fascinating expression of Pinot Noir! It's got a savory nose that presents a little bit of black pepper and meat, with dark cherry as the main fruit. The palate retains that savory and dark aspect of the nose, but the acidic structure lifts everything up to an elegant presentation! On the finish, there's a slight black pepper note that lingers with the dark cherry. Pour this alongside some heartier meat and vegetable dishes, and it'll elevate the meal to the next level!
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
SK 95 DC 91

Jean-Jacques Lamoureux Pinot Blanc Champagne
Review Date: 06-19-2019
Extremely aromatic and light on its feet, this champagne dazzles and delights! Lemon zest, citrus fruit, and floral notes leap and bound across the senses against a backdrop of soft minerality, and lit with accents of pale golden honey.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

1995 Le Brun de Neuville "Grand Vintage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-16-2019
Because of the incredibly long aging on the lies (22 years), this is much more vinous than your average champagne. And my god, this is a fabulous wine! I would want to pair this with something more robust like foie-gras, paté, or a mushroom based dish than with oysters or seafood because of the intense flavor this brings in the glass. The color is a marvelous gold tinged with copper and foreshadows a complex palate. But it doesn’t just foreshadow, it delivers! One could spend a long time trying to pick out particular notes from the large swath of flavors that explode on the palate. I was able to pick out notes of golden raisins, apricot, baked apple, and slightly toasted almonds. There’s also a lot of complexity to the texture! I would describe it as a honey-like viscosity with a slightly gripy chalk quality.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

Boulard-Bauquaire "Carte Noire" Brut Blanc de Noirs Champagne
Review Date: 06-06-2019
Wonderful exotic fruit on the nose; pineapple and melon were the two main ones for me. Clean sweet citrus on the palate; meyer lemon and golden apples. Along with a really lovely supporting cast of honey and saline notes, this champagne does it all! Fruit forward and delicious, this wine will disappear very quickly from your glass.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

2016 Hartford Court Russian River Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 05-20-2019
This is a very friendly Russian River Valley Pinot Noir! There’s a plush dark red fruit character on the palate, with a slight bit of purple fruit to accompany it. The main thing that I find friendly in this wine though is the texture; it’s full and velvety and really coats your palette in a pleasant, warm feeling. This wine retains a great structure through the mid palate as the lovely acidity lifts everything through to the finish. There is also a soft presence of freshly tilled earth that I find very charming. A wonderful and gold-standard example of RRV Pinot Noir!
Price: $29.95 Add To Cart
VN 92 RP 91

2017 Hartford Court Russian River Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 05-20-2019
I was blown away by the elegance that this Chardonnay brings to the table! It’s driven by a very nice character of plush and ripe citrus and stone fruits, which is what I expect from Chardonnays grown here in California. What gives this a robe of elegance is how Hartford Court integrated the oak presence; it’s a supporting cast member acting alongside and enhancing the main actor of the fruits. This is a style of Californian Chardonnay that I love to see! On the finish there’s a little note of interesting pithiness that I suspect will pair nicely with a large variety of rich dishes.
Price: $23.95 Add To Cart
JD 94 VN 91

1995 Charles Heidsieck "Blanc des Millénaires" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-08-2019
Despite the age, this champagne was still lively and bright, with an abundance of nuance. I found the nose very interesting because it’s the only champagne where I was able to smell a different expression of the yeast; it smelled a little bit like freshly toasted tortilla chips! On both the nose and the palate, there was a tiny little accent of very light honey along with a slight pistachio nuttiness. The fruits present here are all ripe and juicy, and surprisingly fresh! I would describe the texture and the main fruit driver of this wine as if you had bitten into a very ripe and juicy golden apple.

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 05-08-2019
It doesn’t get easier and more simply delicious than this! This rosé is juicy, energetic, and a pleasure! There’s a really nice mélange of apple and strawberry notes, a very refreshing and pleasant line of acidity, and a very fine chalky texture to this. This is sure to enhance any get-together that you bring this to!
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

2008 Le Brun de Neuville "Grand Vintage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-08-2019
The golden apple fruit characteristics that drive this wine are so clean here! And because of that, everything else just falls into place to easily. On the nose, there’s a fun yeast quality as if you’re smelling a baguette. There’s a small but wonderful accent of almonds that follows the fruits through to the finish. This champagne also has a velvety viscosity to it, and along with that the chalky texture is presented as if on a soft cushion. Keep for the years to come, or drink it in a few months; either way, this is very enjoyable!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 94 WS 91

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique Assemblage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-08-2019
There is definitely an authentic presence about this wine. The fruits are uncomplicated and delicious; I mostly got notes in the ripe pear category. And the yeast notes present here reminded me of classic Brioche that was freshly baked that morning. Overall, it was like being with a friend who presents themselves openly and honestly, without all the flippantry of someone seeking your attention.

Alexandre Le Brun "Tradition" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-08-2019
The quality that this entry level champagne exhibits is stunning! The golden fruit notes are laced with a wonderful saline quality, and the minerality is accompanied by a savory-ness that adds a rich layer of complexity. The finish is long, and the lusciousness of the whole thing lingers with you.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2012 Alexandre Le Brun "Cuvée Revelation" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-08-2019
The nose on this wine captivated me immediately! It was elegant and pretty, with peach and apricot based notes, and a very floral sweetness; as if from honey where the bees gathered a very light and fresh nectar. But the most surprising part of this wine was on the palate! I immediately imagined a beautiful gilded wooden frame that was empty, just waiting for a painting…My friends, this is a champagne for food, and it will enhance the right dishes, like a good frame will enhance a painting. It’s not for delicate and light foods such as sushi or oysters, but rather for more powerful dishes such as Ramen or slow cooked pork.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-08-2019
I couldn’t ask for anything more from this champagne…I always have a few bottles tucked away somewhere in my stash! On the nose it’s clean and elegant with a slight white-floral aspect; on the palate the fruits are pure, lean, and beautiful, with the classic chalky texture that you find in all of the best champagnes; on the finish, it’s like an old friend that leaves 45 minutes after the first, “Good-bye,” is said.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

Baron-Fuenté "Grande Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-08-2019
An all-star for the price! The main driving notes here are in the ‘pear’ category, with lovely apricot-like accents. Because of the 3 years of aging sur-lie, the yeast notes on the nose are reminiscent to Pain au Levain. Will do great poured on its own for a party, or served on the dinner table with just about any meal!

Dérot-Delugny "Cuvée Fondateurs" Brut
Review Date: 05-07-2019
This champagne speaks to me so profoundly...The balance of acidity and dosage is so perfectly played here! The wine has the lift of an extra brut with the weight of a brut. Every aspect of this wine fits together so wonderfully and elegantly that it leaves you wanting more with every sip! Bright and sweet citrus to start, ripe orchard fruits in the middle, and a touch of salinity to accompany the brioche lies notes. Simply incredible!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2010 Launois "Spécial Club" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (750ml - ships as 1.5L)
Review Date: 12-04-2018
Not every champagne gets to enjoy the label of “vinous,” but this one here deserves it completely! The moment you bring the glass to your nose, you get lost in how deep it goes. On the palette, clean orchard fruits are laced with a little bit of salinity and nuttiness, with a minerality that will leave you breathless, and a finish that goes on for a ridiculously long time. Absolutely incredible! I’ll certainly be putting away a few bottles for myself, as will a few of my colleagues, so you’d better get this quickly!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

Savage & Cooke "Second Glance" K&L Exclusive Cask Strength American Whiskey
Review Date: 11-07-2018
I love how familiar this can come across, and yet at the same time express itself so uniquely! What I mean by that is the mostly corn base of the whiskey shows itself so nicely and freely here; round, lush, and slightly sweet. But then this becomes something so much more because of the ex-wine barrels. The color is a beautiful deep bronze with flashes of red from the wine. And the finish has a nice zing to it; a touch of dried fruit, a hint of fresh fruit, and some slight medicinal herb notes.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2007 Alexandre Le Brun "Cuvée Fascination" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 10-17-2018
The name does not lie; this is a Fascination! It’s a powerful, slightly saline beast that you can smell rather than see striding upon five legs across a landscape of orchards planted in chalk and seashells, perfuming and air with pleasantries and memories gone by... Poetics aside, this is a very unique and beautiful champagne. If you want something to ponder over, marvel at, and maybe write some poetry with, I cannot recommend this enough.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Ca de Medici "Remigio" Sorbara Lambrusco
Review Date: 10-17-2018
A very fragrant and pretty wine, this is sure to accompany me on many lunches in the future! Bursting at the seams with strawberries and overall bright red fruits, this unassuming wine will pair wonderfully with everything from salads to cheese. In spite of expectations, this comes across as very dry and not sweet at all. In a word: Fun!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

1993 Joël Taluau Saint-Nicolas-de-Bourgueil Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 09-13-2018
It’s very rare that you find a perfectly cellared Cabernet Franc from Bourgeuil, and even more rare for it to be anywhere near this old! But this has aged so beautifully. The savory, earthy, and bell peppery notes of Cabernet Franc are elegantly presented in this wine. And the fruit on this wine would fool you to believe that it’s not from 1993! They’re still fresh and full of life. As time passes by, the fruit joyously plays side by side with the earthy tones to create a harmonious melody long after the cork releases this young spirited wine.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart