Local Delivery Available Curbside 11am-6pm Daily Stores Temporarily Closed

Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Jackson Lee

Jackson Lee

Reviews

Corner Creek 10 Year Old Kentucky Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 03-05-2020
I used to drink Corner Creek all the time. I loved it, thought it was the best sub $30 bottle out there. Then it went away, now it’s back. It’s not quite how I remember it and now it’s coming with a 10-year age statement, but damn, it’s still great. The nose just wafts perfumed apple; it’s so aromatic I almost stopped there. But my nose kept on digging to reveal a light vanilla note with a little candy corn and orange peel with fennel seed. Sipping this was a pleasure; the dram drank softly with little heat and a clean, bright tone that preceded caramel apple and orange Mamba flavors I was getting. The finish was long with an oaky dryness about it before trailing off with notes of Nerds candy. Don’t call it a comeback, this one is a totally different beast.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

Rare Perfection 14 Year Old Canadian Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 02-01-2020
Light bodied but so fun and unique, there’s a certain je ne sais quoi about this bottle that just left a smile on my face. The nose is fruity and sweet, starting with a refreshing watermelon rind quality then diving into Fuji apple; and what is unmistakably eggnog to me, with nutmeg and dark brown sugar. On the palate spiced oak hits first, followed by more fruit notes of stewed strawberries, raspberry Italian soda, toasted oats, and a sweet herbal flavor that was something like candied ginseng. The finish was a bit thin and took the herbal note with accents of oak out into the sunset.
Price: $159.99 Add To Cart

Rare Perfection 15 Year Old Canadian Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 02-01-2020
Bottled at a higher proof, this Rare Perfection had more texture and chewiness than its younger sibling and more muted fruit tones. This is a big bad dram of darker, toasty, creamy notes. On the nose I got banana chips, dark brown sugar, dark baking chocolate and dried black plum. The palate had a nice sweet, creaminess to it that reminded me of crème brulee, along with pecan pie, and toasted coconut. The finish was long with some spice and a fun tingly sensation.
Price: $189.99 Add To Cart

2003 Benrinnes 15 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Refill Hogshead Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 01-28-2020
It may have just passed but this would have been a great whiskey to celebrate the lunar new year with, perfect with dumplings and priced where I wouldn’t feel too bad if my relatives made a highball with it. The nose is sweet, with overly buttered toffee, coco powder, Asian pear, candied ginger, and goji berry. The texture was like watered down honey and just as sweet with a nice burn to it. Caramel banana, green apple, and cinnamon danced on my palate and left a oaky sweet tone with a bit of plum for me to ponder. Wonderfully light and expressive scotch at a great price point.
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart

1998 Glenburgie 21 Year Old "Old Particular" Single Refill Hogshead Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 01-21-2020
This bottling had a certain yin and yang going on. Sweet and sour on the nose, sweet and savory on the palate. The first note to hit my nose was Japanese Ume plum followed by pencil shavings, tropical fruit, whoppers, and lemon bars. The palate was quite pleasant texturally with an oily, mouth coating effect that elicited a medicinal peaty note paired with honeysuckle, artificial green apple flavoring and a savory, hardwood charcoal-like note on the back end. The finish felt a bit thin compared to the initial texture but lingered on with an almost mango chocolate malt note.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

1995 L'Encantada 24 Year Old "Lous Pibous #146" Bas-Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 01-17-2020
The nose on this is big and evocative. As soon as the liquid hit the bottom of the glass, bright wisps of caramel apple and golden raisins seemed to form a halo around my nostrils. Getting up close and personal with it reminded me of a Jamaican rum with a bit of burnt rubber, but with a sweet note on the uptake, like milk chocolate. As it became less volatile the green apple and dark brown sugar were more prominent players with the slightest bit of cinnamon hiding out in the back. The palate hits you like a ton of bricks; it starts off soft and smooth with a bright, orchard fruit tone but then a lidocaine tingling starts to ramp up and a bit of oak spice comes in after, taking you into the finish where cherry cola and sweet plums linger for what feels like a millennia.

The addition of water tones down the rubber bits and enhances the brown sugar, and some red fruit tones on the nose. The palate is rounded out and takes on a silkier characteristic, again with the sweeter, darker notes coming forward. This is a hard bottle to pass up, and I’d recommend grabbing a bottle if you’re looking for an elegant yet robust Armagnac.
Price: Hidden View Price

5 Sentidos K&L Exclusive Espadin "Batch ESALB01-19" (Alberto Martinez) Santa Catarina Albarradas Uncertified Oaxacan Mezcal (750ml)
Review Date: 01-03-2020
This espadin took me through a loop. In all honesty, I was not digging the nose. When I first poured it into the glass I got black rubber and cow patties. I swirled and gave it time to blow off a bit and found when I came back to it, the funk had gotten more mild and fruitier tones of canned peaches (with that little bit of aluminum) and cooked agave made their way forward and made nosing it more interesting. The palate told a whole different story. Despite there being some decent heat on the nose, the palate was soft and smooth, reminding me of stone marble, both in texture and flavor. Then a candy-like sweetness hits the tip of the tongue and radiated through to the back of the palate with a subtle quince and white pineapple flavor. The finish was long with sweet minerals and bar-b-que chips as the minerality slowly faded. Like some of my other favorite foods, just because you don’t like the smell doesn’t mean it’s not delicious.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

Palenqueros "Omar Nolasco" San Juan Del Rio Pure Single Palenque Espadin Mezcal (750ml)
Review Date: 01-02-2020
At 55% abv, this is the highest proofed Palenqueros in the line but don’t let that scare you. This is not your typical espadin. The weirdest aspect for me was getting notes I don’t typically get with mezcals. The second the liquid hit the glass I smelled freshly brewed coffee with cream but as I went to investigate, that aroma quickly disappeared and I found myself smelling barnyard funk with wet hay, sour caramel, and after a while, a more subtle coffee note seemed to sneak back but with little commitment. The palate was wonderfully balanced and had a nice, acidic structure to it with grassy notes, black salted caramel, and quince. As the finish came up there was a subtle spice note that lingered along with slightly sweet melon rind. Definitely unique in the world of espadins on the market.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

Rey Campero Tepextate + Pulquero K&L Exclusive Single Batch Lot#D5001-TP Mezcal (750ml)
Review Date: 12-21-2019
This needed some time in the copita but once it settled it was quite fun. Rey Campero is one of my favorite producers, in 2018 I got a chance to visit their Palenque in Yegolé and met Ramiro and Romulo along with the rest of the family (got invited to Romulo’s birthday party). The Palenque sits adjacent to the river from which they get their water and is surrounded by lush greenery and a massive tree. The land is gorgeous and the soil rich; when I was there I planted a jabali that I plan to got back to harvest and distill, but I digress. The production methods used have been passed down for generations and it shows with this offering exclusive to K&L. Initial notes on the nose were comprised of wet cement, pine forest, pineapple rind and sweet agave. As it opened up a bit more I got orange juice and a bit of cream. The palate was a nice combination of sweet and spicy, it had a creamy texture with a note of navel orange zest. The agave really came through in the finish with a nice minerality and sweet agave note that just sat on the tongue like a sumo wrestler.
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart

Don Mateo "K&L Exclusive" Pechuga Mezcal (750ml)
Review Date: 12-20-2019
Beyond the distillates, what I love about Suro imports is the amount of transparency and information they offer with their products. Looking at this bottle you have everything you need to know about the juice inside. They tell you where the agave comes from, how many liters were produced, all of the ingredients and processing techniques as well as the mezcalera (what's not mentioned is that no water was used to make the proofing adjustments and they also snuck in some agave cenizo). There are three unique traits about this pechuga: Made in Michoacan, it uses unique stills and processes from the majority of mezcales that come out of Oaxaca. The master distiller is a woman, and the proteins used come from the turkey (traditional) as well as Venison, Iguana, and Rabbit. With all of that being said, the Cupreata used in this is roasted underground, mashed by hand, fermented in underground wooden tanks for eight days and distilled using a filipino-style wood still.

This all adds up to a wonderful pechuga exclusive to K&L only. The nose was citrusy, giving off strong notes of tangerine peel before delving into creamy custard, ice plants, green strawberries, overripe mango, and granite. 48% abv seemed to be the sweetspot for this bottling with there being little discernible heat until you got to the back end of the dram. It has a slightly oily texture and tastes reminiscent of preserved lemon cheesecake and sweet cucumber skin on the back end of the palate. The finish was long and exemplary, notes of pine forest stuck around with cucumber custard.
Price: Hidden View Price

1998 Orkney (Highland Park) 20 Year Old "Thompson Bros." K&L Exclusive Single Refill Hogshead Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 12-13-2019
I can’t tell if the stick figure on the bottle is going into battle or partying but either way, it’s capturing what I’m getting from this unique Orkney single malt. I dig the label and I dig the juice. The nose gives off a pretty perfume of baked Bartlett pear, cinnamon, vanilla, toasted marshmallow, and sassafras. The palate provides that same baked pear profile combined with chocolate covered toffee with a full-bodied texture. The finish leaves you with a nice, spicy tingling sensation on the tip of the tongue with spicy cinnamon notes and as I begin to regain feeling a subtle juicy pear jelly belly note clings as the breath escapes. This is the kind of scotch I could see myself drinking all day in a ski lodge surrounded by friends.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart

2007 Fine Pot Distilled Jamaican (Monymusk) 11 Year Old "Thompson Bros." K&L Exclusive Single Refill Hogshead Cask Strength Jamaican Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 12-13-2019
This is definitely a rum to ponder over while it sits in the glass. While the proof isn’t exceptionally high, the fumes take a few minutes to blow over but I noticed that as I waited, the aromas evolved as well. This rum started with strong notes of burnt rubber and that was about it, however, as it settled in the glass things began to change. Spice notes of clove and pepper came out, overripe pineapple (almost to the point of fermentation), caramel apple and a savory, salty note that reminded me of salami. Sweet and funky notes played on the palate, largely translating the burnt rubber note from the nose and combining it with caramel apple and plantains. The clove starts to show up again as the finish transitions into straight up bananas foster, which lingered until I felt like I needed to actually make bananas foster for desert tonight. If you like your Jamaican rums, you’re going to love this one.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2014 Rhys "Bearwallow Vineyard" Anderson Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 12-03-2019
I tried this wine both upon opening and after letting it sit for a day (corked, in the bottle) and enjoyed it all the way through. The first glass was bramble-y and herbaceous sitting on top of dark fruits, big and complex with a full body. After some oxygen interaction, sweeter notes started to come out that reminded me of mulberry pie with blueberry ice cream and candied parsley on the side. The finish had more of that sweet herbal component with a slight bit of anise that was reminiscent of a Ricola cough drop. This is one of the better bottles of Pinot's I've had and even purchased a couple myself to put in the cellar and experience their potential down the line.

Còdigo 1530 K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Añejo Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 11-30-2019
This was a fairly unique barrel, I’m still organizing my thoughts around it. Aroma-wise it was one of the more herbal anejo’s I’ve had. The first thing I thought about when nosing this glass was the mouthwash my dentist uses, a much more subtle mint aroma than Listerine but still had that quality about it. I also got pine sap, star anise, cinnamon bark, and a hint of bubble gum underneath it all. On the palate it was herbal and sweet, with notes of dulce de leche, Christmas spices, and peppermint. The finish was long with a white pepper spice and a strong oak presence.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

1979 North British 40 Year Old "Old Particular" Single Refill Barrel Cask Strength Single Grain Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-29-2019
I always get a bit giddy when I have a chance to try a dram older than I am, and this offering did not let down. The initial whiff reminded me of Fernet Branca Menta — herbal, anise, and mint; but as that faded, pine wood shavings, caramel chews, tar, and roasted cacao nibs found their way out of the glass. It reminded me of a funky, well-done Jamaican rum giving an excuse to really geek out on the aromas. The palate returned to the Scotch path as I got kettle corn, blondies, oak barrel (like, the actual barrel), and sassafras. The texture was also quite compelling, not quite velvety but soft and full-bodied. As the finish approached, caramel corn, sweetgrass, green apple peel, oak wood, and Saigon cinnamon all got a chance to make a cameo during the long fade. A fun and complex Scotch that is sure to impress a crowd.
Price: $299.99 Add To Cart

2001 Ben Nevis 18 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Refill Hogshead Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-22-2019
I was a bit surprised to get such an earthy note on the nose from this Scotch, like fresh tilled earth with pencil shavings. Then, the fruit comes in with a big blast of poached pear paired with dried ginger and cinnamon. The palate offered up notes of almond roca, candied ginger, and sweet tobacco leaf. The finish was lean, tingly, and expressed some oak spices and apple peels at the very end.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

1995 Allt-a-Bhainne 23 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Refill Hogshead Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-21-2019
Baked green apples wafted from the glass as I gave it time to rest in the glass before delving in. Upon closer inspection I discovered sweet notes of treacle toffee and peach skin, which was complemented nicely by a freshness, like pool water, but slightly less chemical. The palate continued with the sweet theme, with pencil shavings, cocoa powder, white nectarine, jasmine tea, and salt water taffy. The texture was soft, not quite oily, but most definitely pleasant. On the finish the sweet note finally made its exit, while leaving way for a fresh apricot note; too easy to drink.
Price: $119.99 Add To Cart

1995 Caperdonich 24 Year Old "Chieftain's" K&L Exclusive Single Sherry Butt Cask Strength Unchillfiltered Speyside Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-19-2019
Admittedly, I’m amongst those who had never had a chance to try this ghosted distillery (unless it was in an unnamed blend) and boy do I feel like I’ve been missing out. So many layers on the nose and the longer it was in the glass, the more it changed. Initially I got baby diapers (fresh and clean, no poopiness) followed by raisins, mission fig skin, preserved plum, fennel frond, Nerds candy, and stewed strawberries. It seems to encompass a bright fruitiness with a musty sweetness that just goes so damn well together. The palate was soft and elegant and just a bit chewy, bringing out notes of crisp green apple, quince, wild strawberries enrobed in semisweet chocolate, brandied cherries, and a subtle oak influence. The finish was just long and lovely with toasted sugar mixed with dried strawberries. With this being some of the last of its kind, any sherried scotch lover needs to have this in their collection.
Price: $399.99 Add To Cart

2005 Laphroaig 13 Year Old "Chieftain's" K&L Exclusive Single Sherry Butt Cask Strength Unchillfiltered Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-15-2019
If my family drank, this is a bottle I’d take with me to our holiday dinners. This bottle screams autumn with notes of ume plum, burnt caramel, oak spice, and cinnamon graham crackers on the nose. The palate is fatty, savory, and sweet and I can imagine it going perfectly with turkey and stuffing. It’s warm and inviting, I just want to cuddle up with it next to a fire and look longingly at the glass.
Price: $159.99 Add To Cart

1988 Bunnahabhain 30 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Refill Hogshead Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-15-2019
This dram had a certain je ne sais quoi about it. Everything from the nose to the finish blew me away. Pretty and elegant on the nose with a delicate hint of smoke with red summer berries and canned mandarin oranges. The palate was equally as impressive, with more of a sweet tangerine flesh note with light oak tones and chocolate malt; it felt like sunshine in my mouth. The finish didn’t disappoint, as the sun started to set it left me with a flavor that reminded me of one of my favorite candies- peach gummy rings. This is an absolute dream of a scotch, no water necessary, and with tariffs going up, I’d definitely pick this bottle up for future consumption.
Price: $349.99 Add To Cart

1997 Ledaig 21 Year Old "Chieftain's" K&L Exclusive Single Sherry Butt Cask Strength Unchillfiltered Island Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-15-2019
This dram from Ledaig was extremely robust. The aromas from the glass dominated the room with iodine, tanning leather, baker’s chocolate and preserved cherry. I got an undertone of funk mixed with the iodine, which dissipated with time and caused me to revisit the glass a few times. The palate still exhibited signs of iodine detected in the nose but added in pencil shavings and peppered jerky. After the addition of water, sweet schezuan peppers and cherries appeared but for a brief moment. As expected from the nose, the finish was long and reminded me of fruity Korean beef jerky.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart

Mal Bien Green Tape "Felipe + Ageo Cortes" Batch 0618 Tepextate (A. Marmorata) Mezcal (750ml)
Review Date: 11-08-2019
After spending decades in the ground, tepextate’s are a wonder and privilege to enjoy. The nose on this comes off way hotter than how it drinks. Notes of pinewood, honey smoked ham, freshly cut flowers, and watermelon rind ride the fumes out of the glass but sipping it is a different experience entirely. Smooth and sweet, this is a bottle that could go down dangerously fast if you’re not paying attention. Ice plants and smoked honey are the large players here that compete against a fruity sweetness that just keeps you wanting more. At this price, you’d be hard pressed to pass up owning this bottle.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

Maker's Mark 46 K&L Exclusive "Barrel #6" Private Select Kentucky Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 11-08-2019
Trying our two barrels side by side was a fun experience and clearly highlights the effects different staves can have on the whiskey. While barrel #5 had fruitier esters, #6 has more oak influence and baking spices, raisin box, umeshu, peanut brittle and demerara sugar dominate the nose. The palate is ridiculously soft as notes of brown sugar, orange peel, and rice crispy treats mix with a sweet herbal note and a slow burn building up to the finish.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Maker's Mark 46 K&L Exclusive "Barrel #5" Private Select Kentucky Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 11-08-2019
This pour needed some time in the glass before diving in. After about five minutes the spirit settled down and the aromas started to make their way out of the glass. Notes of clove studded orange peel, angel food cake, toasted caramel, and baked apples reminded me of a cool autumn afternoon. The daydream continues on the palate as this wheated bourbon warms you up like a soft sweater with fruity tones of candied cherries and brown sugar with a sweet herbal note of something like sassafras. The finish is incessantly long and unctuous, leaving a tingling sensation on the tip of the tongue and sweet sassafras and black plums linger.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2018 Matt Connell "Rendition" Pinot Noir Central Otago
Review Date: 10-30-2019
After sitting in a covered glass, this wine really seemed to open up. Nosing the pour, I initially got a light black pepper and cranberry note but the more I went back to it the more it offered. Notes of red currant, black mission fig skin, and a sweet toffee like note was somewhere in the background. Once this juice hit the palate, I immediately was drawn to it. Texturally it’s got a medium body with a good acid balance to it, something that would have me going back for additional glasses at a holiday dinner. Black raspberry and watermelon jolly ranchers made the experience even more fun, and the finish definitely doesn’t detract from that. This is a bottle I would be happy to bring to any holiday dinner.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Old Potrero "K&L Exclusive Barrel #12" 63.33% Single Malt Straight Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 10-09-2019
Barrel #12 expressed more of what I would consider to be classic Potrero rye notes, almost hitting some from their 18th Century Style Spirit as well. On the nose, the combination of oak and kola nut reminded me of their original bottlings, but deeper aromas of black raisins and brown sugar melted in butter were also in the forefront. The palate was a bit tight and fairly spicy compared to Barrel #13. Again, brown sugar made its appearance but it intermingled with the spice and a faint note of cinnamon. With the addition of water, the spice was toned down and more fruit notes surfaced, including something that reminded me of purple gobstoppers. The finish was interesting and definitely reminded me of the Old Potrero 18th Century Style Spirit, which always had an RC Cola note to me.
Price: Hidden View Price

Old Potrero "K&L Exclusive Barrel #13" 63.21% Single Malt Straight Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 10-09-2019
Barrel 13 had a little more fruit notes going on and a roasted/toasted/malty/toffee/coffee thing going on that I couldn’t quite put my finger on. But loved it. The nose had strong influences of oak, dried dark plums, and sweet cherries. It really reminded me of Panettone, the Italian holiday cake. Turbinado sugar and hints of that roasted coffee undertone seemed to be the last ones on the trail. The palate carried over from the nose, with Panettone again being the big player. Other notes of spiced cherries, prunes, and just a touch of toasted caramel were also prevalent and quite delightful. The finish on this one was long, and where I picked up on a lot of the roasted/toasted etc. flavor that was hinted at in the nose and palate. I also got a bit of cinnamon cookie at the very end.
Price: Hidden View Price

El Samaritano Mexicano (Ambrosio Martinez Blas) Santiago Matatlan Artesenal Oaxacan Mezcal (750ml)
Review Date: 10-08-2019
To get a wild agave expression, made in small batch, at this price, is becoming more and more rare these days. Mexicano is one of my go-tos when recommending a mezcal beyond the standard espadin, and if espadin is all you’ve tried, this is a fantastic bottle to pick up and to explore other sub-species of agave. The nose is sweet and green, like fresh pressed sugar cane juice (which I recently got to experience in Vietnam), followed by sweet roasted agave, dusty gravel, grilled pineapple and white sage.

The palate is a roller coaster, building you up with smooth and sweet fruit notes, with pineapple playing a major part of that. Then you get hit with cayenne spice and mildly pickled jalapenos (de-seeded), then the sweetness starts to come back and a roasted strawberry note rounds things off on the palate. The finish was mild, sweet with a bit of that cayenne spice riding it out.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

New Riff Bottled-In-Bond Kentucky Straight Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 10-04-2019
I was surprised with how mellow the rye is, sitting at 100 proof with its bottled-in-bond designation. The nose is herbaceous and spicy with notes of anise seed and liquorice but balanced with sweeter notes of dark brown sugar, vanilla, and cola nut. The palate was soft for a rye, with light liquorice notes showing back up mingling with Whoppers and allspice; I could see this going down way too easily. The finish doesn’t help that, alluring me back to the glass with sweet oak spice and warm cinnamon flavors rounding things out. A no-brainer for any rye lover.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

New Riff "Single Barrel" Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 10-04-2019
The longer this dram sat in the glass, the more it opened up and evolved. Starting with notes of cream soda, cherrywood, and black plum skins, sweeter notes of molasses, sassafras, and light brown sugar played with anise seed and condensed milk the more I let it sit. This bourbon shines on the palate. It’s easy drinking for the proof (112.4) but still lets you know it’s there with notes of purple candy, dark chocolate covered golden raisins, sweet herbs and light cinnamon building towards the end. This is definitely a bourbon worth buying and keeping at your bar at home.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

New Riff Bottled-In-Bond Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 10-03-2019
Herbaceous, earthy, yet sweet on the nose, the bottled in bond bourbon gives off notes of sarsaparilla, fennel frond, fresh cut grass, demerara sugar and candy corn. At 100 proof, this is way too easy to sip. It slyly sneaks onto your palate with a supreme smoothness and welcoming sweet notes of dulce de leche, diet cola, and brown sugar. The finish adds a nice spice and a little heat to balance everything out while there’s still a note of rock candy. A solid bottled-in-bond bourbon for the price.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

The 86 Co. Ford's Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 07-27-2019
Juniper and citrus aromas jump out of the glass with an underlying malty sweetness. The palate mirrors the aromas almost to a T; juniper with lemon peel with a sweet background as a little bit of heat hits you on the way out. Perfect in G&T's or a Negroni!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

Hillrock Estate Solera Aged Single Barrel K&L Exclusive Cask Strength Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 07-11-2019
The uniqueness of this bottling should not go overlooked. First, solera method bourbon…what? Secondly, private barrel of solera method bourbon…huh? Hillrock uses older sourced stock and combines with distillate they are making themselves in their solera style system, over time, the average age gets older and older in the bottle. From what I hear about this K&L selection is the juice is around an average age of 13 years. The nose is sweet and fun, albeit a little hot- giving off notes of French Toast and brown sugar, oak, baker’s chocolate, and dried plum. The heat does not translate to the palate and is texturally very pleasant. There’s a good depth of flavor with notes of cherry pit, brown sugar, anise seed, and raw almonds. The finish tapers off quickly but you are left with a single, long, spiced cherry flavor. This would make a great gift to any bourbon lover and definitely worth trying since the expressions will only get older with time.
Price: $139.99 Add To Cart

Destileria Los Danzantes Los Nahuales "Metodo Antiguo" Mezcal (750ml)
Review Date: 06-26-2019
With almost no heat on the nose (so weird at 52.4% abv), I was getting the stemmy, white part of a strawberry mixed with lemonade, a pool surrounded by pine trees, and sweet black licorice and honey baked ham. There's also an unmistakable roasted agave note that's resting under the other aromas. The palate is almost as smooth as the nose kicking off with sweet, briny spearmint and pine mixed with a whisper of vanilla, and under-ripe tropical fruits. The spirit has a cooling texture and extremely long finish of cinnamon bun (no glaze) and under-ripe pineapple. This was a surprising pour and a fun one!
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Dérot-Delugny "Cuvée Fondateurs" Brut
Review Date: 05-07-2019
This was such a fun wine to smell. Very pretty on the nose with notes of white flowers and pear jelly bellies (my favorite). The palate was clean and soft with lightly minerals from a crispy pear.
Price: Hidden View Price

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique Assemblage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-07-2019
This is a great wine to buy. Not only for the fact that its aged five year on the lees on cork (not bottle cap), smells of orange blossom honey and green apples, and tastes like a green apple jolly rancher (without the cloying sweetness)- but also because you're helping small producers survive among the bigger houses. If you're into good wine and fighting against, "the man," this is definitely a label you should pick up.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-07-2019
Franck Bonville constantly tops the staff picks charts and this blanc de blanc is no exception. The nose is clean, with a nice minerality and subtle floralness that opens up the palate with its balanced acidity with a peach blossom note. The finish is what takes the cake for me amongst other wines at this price point. Long and mouthwatering, this is a must for parties and celebrations.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Fallet-Dart "Grande Sélection" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-07-2019
You just can't get much better with over seven years on the lees with estate grown fruit and a 17th generation grower. With notes of toast with pear jam on the nose and a nicely balanced palate with orchard fruit and pineapple upside-down cake this is a great wine to share with friends. The finish is soft but lingers and keeps reminding you to tip that glass back. A truly great value for under $35.
Price: $36.99 Add To Cart

Four Roses Small Batch Select Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 05-02-2019
I typically adhere by the saying, "If it ain't broke, don't fix it." It seems Four Roses disagrees. With three solid core offerings, they decided to double down on the small batch, offering this great, mid-tiered whiskey at a higher proof (you won't hear me complaining). On the nose I get sweet notes of candy corn and golden raisins with a slight hint of ripe green plum. The palate is definitely kicked up a notch from the regular small batch (which incidentally was my gateway bourbon). Sweet apple notes, with a bit of saigon cinnamon spice make their way forward and leave my tongue tingling with a bit of oak and a small hint of vanilla and finishing with sweet white peaches. The regular small batch got me into bourbon and Four Roses whiskey, and this new Select offering brought me back.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

Singani "63" Bolivian Muscat Brandy (750ml)
Review Date: 05-02-2019
Super aromatic and just plain pretty. This muscat based Bolvian brandy gives off aromas of tropical fruits, sweet green apples, and night blooming jasmine. The palate is soft and sweet and reminds me of a tropical fruit punch jolly rancher but with a dry finish. A fun, summery spirit that would work great in a number of cocktails (think cucumbers, limes, basil, and punches) or would be great in a spritz or just on the rocks.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Legent Straight Kentucky Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 03-26-2019
The power of suggestion can be extremely influential, so when I heard about this new Beam/Suntory project, I of course had a predetermined thought on what it might taste like. A bourbon blended by a Japanese blender; like a beautiful Venn Diagram combining the flavors of bourbon with the preferences of a Japanese palate. It’s two worlds I thought would never cross but they did. And it works. On the nose, you get the big expressionistic aspects of bourbon with red cherries, candy corn, and dried plums but then there’s a sherry and marzipan note that kicks in and is reminiscent of an older scotch. The palate has a silky smooth texture with wood tannins drying out at the end. Notes of dried orchard fruits mingle with cocoa powder and orange blossom honey. There’s a soft elegance throughout the dram that captures (in my mind) what people want and look for in a good Japanese whiskey. As a huge fan of both Japanese and American whiskies, I can say this one absolutely did not disappoint.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Mezonte "Raicilla Japo" Jalisco Spirit Distilled From Agave Uncertified Jalisco Raicilla/Mezcal (750ml)
Review Date: 03-23-2019
Produced by Hildegardo Joya, this Raicilla expresses the techniques and traditions accumulated over the lifetime of this master distiller. At 75 years old, Heldegardo still walks his agave fields, his trusted machete in hand, looking over the plants as if they were his children. That care is reflected in the distillate he produces from the Amarillo agave. On the nose I get Camembert cheese, or a lightly smoked Gouda, gravel, honey baked pineapple ham and sweet mint. The texture really got me on this one; like drinking a mouthful of fresh river water, this pour is smooth while giving off flavors of sweet cooked agave and blue cotton candy. On the finish, the cooked agave still shines while a little peppery spice leaves your mouth with a pleasant tingling sensation. Sadly, there’s no steward to take Hildegardo’s place when he decides to retire so be sure to get this offering while it’s still being made!
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart

Mezonte "Tepe" Jalisco Spirit Distilled From Agave (750ml) (uncertified mezcal)
Review Date: 03-23-2019
As a parent, they say you’re not supposed to have favorites. I’m not a parent, but the Mezonte line up and producers have won my heart over and I’ve personally purchased the first three releases to add to my collection at home. Now, I won’t say it’s my favorite, but the Tepe certainly has made quite the impression. There’s a certain mystique it carries down with it from the northern mountains of Jalisco and the aromas and flavors are unparalleled. On the nose I got briney, blueberry Fruity Pebbles, sweet roasted agave, underripe pineapple, Crenshaw melon, with a nice minerality. The palate was sublimely soft texturally, with notes of blueberries, kaffir lime and a fantastic minerality mirrored in the nose. As it lingers, the lime sticks around and is joined by sage, spearmint, and bacon. There might be a bit of sticker shock at first but know that you’re getting some very special stuff here. Not only that, but the producers who work with Mezonte are getting a big portion of the lion’s share. If you love agave spirits and supporting local, indigenous communities, don’t miss out on this offering!
Price: $169.99 Add To Cart
Limit of 1 per customer

Uncle Nearest 1856 Tennessee Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 03-22-2019
Another whiskey with a neat little story behind it. Coming from a polytechnic schooling, I’d typically ask for sources but the juice seems to speak for itself. The nose is sweet and rich with notes of vanilla, orange peel, stewed figs and a bit of sweetgrass. The palate is soft with a light sweetness that hits the tip of your tongue. Then the sarsaparilla and oak notes start coming through and the finish is drawn out with a bit of sweet mint at the end. At 100 proof, it drinks beautifully and is something I wouldn’t mind having on my bar cart at this price point.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Knob Creek "Barreled in 2009" Limited Release 2018 Cask Strength Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 01-05-2019
Smelling this rye brought me back to the days of working in a bakery and smelling the rye dough as the bakers were kneading it. The grain on the nose is unmistakable, but past that you get wonderful baking spices like nutmeg and mild clove mixing with stewed cherries and a green banana note at the end. The palate reminded me of the opening to the Power Puff Girls, “Sugar, spice, and everything nice. These were the ingredients chosen to create the perfect…” whiskey dram. Ok, maybe not perfect, and in this case, I would liken Chemical X (the extra ingredient Professor Ultonium added) to a cherry jolly rancher. The finish was mighty powerful too, long and daring me to take another sip, the rye grain made sure to say goodbye as it slowly sauntered away.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart