Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Will Blakely

Will Blakely

Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
2007 Glenlivet 12 Year Old "Signatory Unchillfiltered Collection" 1st Fill Single Sherry Butt Cask Strength Speyside Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-20-2019
I didn't know it was possible, but this bottling is actually slightly better than the last. For starters, the nose is more complex with persimmon skin, sultana, mandarin zest and beatiful roasted barley. Rather than just fudge and coffee, the palate also shows signs creme brulee, toasted wheat, marzipan and marmalade. The sherry, ever-present, adds candied nuts and a hint of salinity, but all perfectly balanced. Then I added a splash of water, and everything changed; the aromas tended even more sweet - wild honey, sticky toffee, almond rocca - but the savory character of the malt and sherry really came alive on the palate. The espresso tone came to the forefront, coupled with walnuts and dark, burnt sugar. With such intense and dynamic flavors, any fan of single malt should be looking to pick up a bottle, let alone the sherry lovers.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

Clynelish 23 Year Old "Signatory Vintage Black Label" K&L Exclusive Single 2nd Fill Sherry Butt #11239 Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-20-2019
Without question, this is nectar from the gods. For those who do not know Clynelish is famous among aficionados for a unique waxy character in its distillate. Combined with the sherry in this barrel, it forms a rich, buttery structure on which layers and layers intense flavor build up and coalesce into a magical elixir. The wood and spice tones remind me in some ways of old, vintage Madeira. Instead of the syrupy sweetness, though, you get juicy golden apple, honeyed biscuits and a heavenly, ethereal malt profile. With just a hint of iodine and that trademark paraffin, it achieves an impossible balance between sweet and savory - power and grace. The flavor seems to last for days, and I want to savor every second of it.
Price: $249.99 Add To Cart

2004 Ardbeg 15 Year Old "Chieftain's" K&L Exclusive Single Ex-Bourbon Barrel Cask Strength Unchill-filtered Islay Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-14-2019
This bottling is on another tier altogether from standard Ardbeg releases in terms of sophistication and concentration. Deep, intense flavors of golden raisin, dried seaweed, graham cracker and barbecued meat rise up, break and wash across the palate like a large wave meeting the shore. Aromas of leather and sandalwood give the perfectly charred peat more dimension, letting it meld with the creme brulee character of the sweet malt in a way that enhances every flavor rather than each vying for attention and drowning each other out. I want to revisit this to rein in my fanboy excitement, but right now, I can't get over how the taste lingers 20 minutes after I've stopped sipping. If you love Ardbeg as much as I do, you have to get a bottle before they're gone.
Price: $239.99 Add To Cart

2015 Carmel Road "North Crest Panorama Vineyard" Monterey Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-14-2019
This is a lot of wine for not much money. The nose starts off a bit gamy and herbal, but that pastoral whiff quickly subsides as it is overcome by delectable purity of fruit. Brambly and fleshy, the texture is delightful. A mouthful of juicy cherry and ripe cranberry with just a hint of clove and allspice washes across the palate showing impressive concentration. The finish brings just enough vanilla and orange peel to compliment the other flavors without compromising their integrity. Mix that with vibrant, mouthwatering acid, and you've got a real winner. It'll be everyone's favorite with turkey dinner, so make sure to get a few extra bottles.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2017 Domaine de Verquière Rasteau
Review Date: 11-13-2019
This wine is the sleeper of the season, and will definitely be the first bottle I think of for the upcoming holiday gatherings. Ripe yet refined, it exudes dried plum, juicy blueberry and raspberry, finishing with nutrient-rich earth and an edge of bitter cacao. Despite its big bold flavors, it remains remarkably light on its feet. The agility displayed here puts everything into stunning focus, allowing you to appreciate each facet individually as well as the full picture. This is one of those bargains you don't want to miss.

5 Sentidos Espadin "Batch ESALB01-19" K&L Exclusive (Alberto Martinez) Santa Catarina Albarradas Uncertified Oaxacan Mezcal (750ml)
Review Date: 11-13-2019
This exemplary mezcal shows how time, dedication and impeccable technique can acheive some of the highest quality spirit imagineable, certified or not. Careful cultivation and handling of this Espadin yields something altogether different from the overcooked and ruddy tastes of high-volume cocktail-only mezcal. The flavors are immaculate and fresh, snapping into focus from the moment the liquid leaves the bottle. Piquant lime zest and mellow roasted roots up front transition seamlessly into chamomille, fresh herbs and green agave. On the back end, a meaty char and the requisite savory smoke give the feeling of serious weight, but all of it is held in perfect balance by a lingering mineral character that leaves the finish just as dry and crisp as the start. Honestly, it's dangerous how easily this goes down; pace yourself, but don't be surprised if you have to buy several bottles before this batch is gone.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

Balcones "K&L Exclusive" Cask Strength Single Barrel #16003 Texas Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-03-2019
Make no mistake - this is a hell of a lot of whiskey for the price. High poof aside, rich, powerful malt delivers an intensity of flavors you don't normally find from under 3 years of barrel age. Dried fig, dark sugar, and dense chocolate wash across the palate with a prominent and pervasive spice. Something about the American oak in this reminds me a bit of bourbon, though the malt definitely delivers a more hearty, savory profile. With a healthy dose of water, the full breadth of flavors really shines, lifting vanilla and summer flowers and wild honey from the murky depths while retaining the full weight of the spirit. We are truly at the dawn of a new age of single malt spirits, and bottles like this are at the forefront, paving the way and battling our preconceptions with damn fine whiskey.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

Palenqueros "Rey Arellanes" Santa Catarina Minas Pure Single Palenque Mezcal (750ml)
Review Date: 10-25-2019
Among these single distillery offerings, I found Rey Arellanes' blend to display the most distinctive terroir. Earthy and complex, boasting a backbone of pervasive acid, it reminds me in some ways of high-quality Burgundy. The wealth of mineral character may owe in part to the clay pot stills, but it only serves to strengthen the comparison. Mature Espadin flavors are lifted by hints of lime skin and saline. The finish here is long and dark, enhanced beautifully by the wild Tobaziche. Truly a masterfully crafted bottle of Mezcal.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

Palenqueros "Onofre Ortiz" Bramaderos Pure Single Palenque Ensamble Mezcal (750ml)
Review Date: 10-25-2019
This Ensamble made for a very pleasant surprise. Exceedingly fresh and floral. My first thought was of a breeze through a meadow in summer. Sweet flowers and chamomile paint a charming picture, fleshed out by melon and white peach. Between a chalky mineral character and touch of cinchona bark on the finish, it whets the appetite like an aperitif wine — one that I could drink all day.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

Palenqueros "Baltazar Cruz" San Juan Del Rio Pure Single Palenque Tobala Mezcal (750ml)
Review Date: 10-24-2019
As one might expect from Tobala, the aromas are delicate, pure and graceful. White flowers, vanilla and lanolin waft effortlessly from the glass, evoking an ethereal and elegant profile. What separates this is the finesse it displays. Rather than wildly tropical, the palate feels creamy and silky. With a whiff of cracked white pepper and a savory but fresh finish, it is easy to see why Tobala is so highly prized in Mezcal production. While displaying tremendous subtlety and restraint, this bottle by no means lacks flavor or intrigue. Truthfully, I find myself wishing I had more.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

Russell's Reserve Single Barrel "#19-345" (Rickhouse CN F, Floor 6) K&L Exclusive Kentucky Straight Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 10-17-2019
This expression proved the most difficult for me to classify, and that might make it the most interesting. Savory and unique, an indelible herbal note sets the tone. A persistent nose of yeast, like fine lees in wine, keeps my face glued to the edge of my glass as I try to discern the secret blend of herbs and spices that causes my mouth to water like this. Banana and its leaves, subtle paraffin, and Brazil nut pair seamlessly with sweet cereal and gentle chamomile. It's mind-boggling, but an exciting and intriguing challenge. Is that teak wood I smell? Walnut? Just when I think I've settled on something, it's gone, replaced by something equally enticing. I implore you to solve these mysteries for yourself.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

Russell's Reserve Single Barrel "#19-1108" (Rickhouse CN A, Floor 4) K&L Exclusive Kentucky Straight Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 10-17-2019
I was first struck by the sweet and sticky nose, which caused me initially to interpret this bottle as the brown sugar beast among the lot. Upon further investigation, though, it unveils an impressive and nuanced array of flavors. The dark syrup is merely an adornment for apricot, sultana, orange zest and crunchy graham cracker. And atop all that, somehow, white pepper and rosemary float effortlessly, providing a compelling counterpoint without creating strife. With exceptional balance and a fascinating finish, it keeps me coming back for more.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

Russell's Reserve Single Barrel "#18-439" (Rickhouse CN A, Floor 4) K&L Exclusive Kentucky Straight Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 10-17-2019
Another season sees another round of exceptional barrels from the wealth of Wild Turkey's reserve stocks. In this case, my first impressions conjured cornflower, cherry and tobacco - an altogether pleasant, if straightforward nose. The depths therein, however, are anything but simple. Nutmeg, stewed apple, baking chocolate and a hefty dose of cinnamon take center stage backed up by dark sugar and prominent oak. There's a lot going on here, and I was glad to revisit it several times throughout the day. This is definitely not one to sleep on.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

2018 Comte Louis de Clermont-Tonnerre (Alain Corcia) Ventoux Syrah
Review Date: 10-17-2019
Headturning wine at this price point is always a welcome surprise, and this particular bottle might be the best kept secret in the store right now. Very friendly and endlessly quaffable, the Syrah boasts ripe blueberries, cozy mocha, mellow vanilla and pleasant spice. Wherever Alain Corcia sourced the grapes for this Ventoux, I need to make a pilgrimage to stock up on fantastic, affordable wine. Until then, I'll gladly and gratefully settle for the allotment we have in the store.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$9.99

2017 Bodegas Aleanna "El Enemigo" Chardonnay Mendoza
Review Date: 10-17-2019
Flawlessly marrying New World style with Old World pedigree, consider this wine your new best friend, despite what the name would imply. It consistently over-delivers for the price - intense fruit, brawny structure and ample oak would pit this favorably against California chardonnay for twice the price. But with a touch of yeast on the nose and vibrant acid on the palate, it might just give some French producers a run for their money. Whatever your fancy, you'll want to pick up a few bottles of this to wow your friends and family this holiday season and in the year to come.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
JS 98

Michel Couvreur "Cap a Pie" Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 09-26-2019
Anyone that tells you blended whisky is inherently inferior needs psychological evaluation to determine who hurt them to make them so cynical. And high-quality malt and grain mixtures don't need to cost an arm and a leg like Johnnie Blue or Ichiro's worldwide blend. Before you even raise the glass as far as your lips, enchanting aromas of orchard fruit, sweet grain and white flowers greet you warmly. Honeyed, nutty, sticky malt and bright, delicate grain find the perfect balance and coax a subtle stone fruit character from the dynamic array of flavors you find in each sip. It's so fresh and delightful that even casual drinkers may find themselves sitting in front of an empty glass wondering where all the whisky went.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2014 Bunnahabhain Staoisha Heavily Peated 4 Year Old "Signatory Unchillfiltered Collection" Dechar/Rechar Cask Strength Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 09-26-2019
This bottling definitely speaks directly to the die-hard peat fanatics out there. Fans of last year's John Milroy 3 y.o. Staoisha should be pleased with this successor, because honestly, it is worth the increase in price. The former bottle relied almost exclusively on barbecue smoke and a healthy dose of oak, but ultimately felt understandably underdeveloped. This fills out all the flavor you were missing--salty, mossy and rich with marvelous charred oak and a lick of spice. Tobacco and aromas like a dry-rub for pork keep this feeling fresh and different on every sip. The dark, chocolatey malt makes for a perfect backdrop on which to hang all these intricate, nuanced flavors that work so well with the deeply entrenched smoke. With a bottle like this, the impending shortage of double-digit age-stated single malts does not seem so scary.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2016 Black Slate "Porrera" Priorat
Review Date: 09-13-2019
The new vintage has arrived, and it's stunning. This time around it's taken on a different profile, however; more savory and rustic, some of the overripe fruit has made way for woody spice and brighter acid. The bold berries are still present, but the balance feels better overall -- a bit less extracted and a bit more structured. This is one that you can age in the cellar just as easily as you can drink case after case of it now.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JD 94 RP 92

2017 Susana Balbo "Signature" Malbec Mendoza
Review Date: 09-13-2019
If ever I need to explain why Susana Balbo is such a celebrated winemaker, I simply point to this wine. Dark, perfumed, and voluptuous, it might appear at first sniff to be a dense beast of a wine. Not so: silky tannin, exquisite fruit, and high-toned acid paint a perfect picture of Mendoza Malbec that is at once easily approachable yet remarkably refined. Endlessly drinkable, this is one you'll want to revisit again and again.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 94

Foursquare Rum Distillery 14 Year Old "Empery" Exceptional Cask Selection Mark IX Single Blended Barbados Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 09-05-2019
An unexpected blend from one of the foremost experts in rum, this release is a godsend. One shudders to imagine what the stock aged in Oloroso barrels tasted like before it was married with the purely bourbon-aged batch. Even 4 years in the tropics caused the sherry cask to fill this bottling to the gills with a wealth of savory, nutty character. Impossibly dense, it features the same charred caramel we know and love from Foursquare, but with it stone fruits, a touch of waxy honey, and ample baking spice. But this is by no means sweet; all this flavor is balanced perfectly with a snappy, spicy, gloriously dry finish. My words do not begin to do this justice; you'll just have to try it to see for yourself what makes this so special.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2007 Foursquare Rum Distillery 12 Year Old "Ex-Bourbon Cask" Exceptional Cask Selection Mark VI Single Blended Barbados Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 09-05-2019
Foursquare was the first rum that captivated me and led me down the lengthy rabbit hole that is sugarcane spirits. I used to say these static-aged ex-bourbon barrel releases drink like cask-strength bourbon made from molasses instead of corn. While there's an element of truth to that with flavors of caramel, toasted oak and woody spice, these rums show distinctly tropical qualities you don't find in Kentucky whiskey. Hints of ripe banana and papaya play off the dark sugar tones, though the finish remains perfectly dry. The concentration and density are unparalleled as well, a result of time spent ageing on the island.
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart

2018 Aurore Dezat Sancerre
Review Date: 09-05-2019
Aurore Dezat's wines continue to impress with an effortless precision and grace. The words that immediately sprang to mind were, "So fresh and so clean." Delicate orchard flowers, tangy grapefruit, candied orange peel, and subtle hints of white peach converge with lip-smacking acid, ending on refreshing, mineral-laden finish. So dangerously quaffable, you'll need to stock up on several bottles at once.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
DC 90

2018 Bodega Chacra "Sin Azufre" Pinot Noir Rio Negro
Review Date: 09-05-2019
Bodegas Chacra continues to amaze me with the quality and care displayed in their wines. Last year's Sin Azufre was a delightful surprise; I hadn't imagined finding modern pinot from Patagonia so expertly crafted and refined. This year does not disappoint, and once again I am floored by the elegance and finesse of these wines. Perhaps brighter in style, more red fruit than black, it features the same savory herb tones and perfectly integrated spice. The finish is long and clean, bringing with it the stony minerals I've come to love from the Rio Negro area wines. I would compare this favorably with Burgundy in the same price range; the styles and terroir differ, but there is no question that this wine is on the level.
Price: $35.99 Add To Cart
JS 96

2010 La Rioja Alta "904" Gran Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 08-23-2019
I could not contain my excitement when I saw the new vintage hit our inventory, and this bottling did not disappoint. Toasty American oak gives this heft and a bold structure, but by no means overwhelms. Layer upon layer of ripe fruit, sweet flowers, warm earth, aptly balanced spice and savory herbs seem to extend further and further down a deep well of flavor the bottom of which I cannot find. The wine just keeps giving. It's still in its infancy, so I revisited it several over the course of 36 hours, sampling at as many intervals as I could manage. Every time, without fail, more complexity built up in the glass. So much life in it yet, I cannot wait to see where it will be in 20 years.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
JS 98 RP 96

2016 Silares, Garnacha Tintorea Almansa
Review Date: 08-23-2019
Honestly, I did not know what to expect when I popped the cork, but I am so glad I did. It opens with a nose like espresso and roasted roots with just a hint of the underlying fruit. Once it hits your taste buds, though, that fruit steals the show - brambly blackberry, ripe raspberry and purple-fleshed plums flood the palate, but remain remarkably light. Peppery spice and twiggy underbrush provide perfect counterpoint aided by just a touch of brine and stone. Fragrant flowers hit the roof of your mouth, and a savory meaty quality rounds out the long, delightful finish. Such an astoundingly complex wine for the price, I wish I'd picked up a case.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Leopold Bros. "Summer" Limited Edition Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 08-09-2019
Personally, I remain adamant that if you're going to use a gin in cocktails, it should be perfectly palatable without adulteration. Leopold's Summer Gin accomplishes that feat with aplomb. It smells like a summer breeze through a picturesque garden complete with citrus trees on the outskirts. The juniper here is ever-present, but by no means aggressive. Clean, fresh, and right on the mark in every respect, it carries its weight with poise and finesse, but there's nothing pretentious about it. This gin would do just as well with a single ice cube as in an extravagant cocktail that looks like a peacock in a Collins glass and costs you an arm and a leg in Hollywood. I highly recommend picking up a bottle before it hibernates for the winter.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

Douglas Laing's "The Gauldrons" Batch #1 Limited Edition Campbeltown Blended Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 07-25-2019
If anyone is curious about what separates Campbeltown malt from the rest of the mainland or its counterparts on Islay, I would show them the Gauldrons. The welcoming smell of barley fields kissed by sea air is enough of a selling point for this region's extraordinary whiskies in and of itself. Beyond that, honey-coated golden apple lights up the palate followed by delicious dark chocolate. Crunchy cereal and pleasant wood smoke linger, finishing with just a hint of meaty umami. There is definitely some older whisky in the blend, giving it a touch more weight and texture than Springbank's 10 year release. Whether new to Campbeltown or just looking for a new everyday, this is a great choice for your home bar.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2017 Sierra de Toloño Rioja
Review Date: 07-25-2019
Sandra Bravo is working with some top-notch fruit from high elevation sites in Rioja Alavesa. I am a huge fan of her winemaking philosophy, which is to highlight the natural acidity and purity of her grapes. This 100% tempranillo shows juicy cherry and blackberry, with pungent, fresh floral aromas. Aging in neutral oak allows the fruit to remain prominent against the backdrop subtly savory oak. This is the perfect Rioja to enjoy right now while you let your Gran Reservas mature.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2016 Rafael Palacios "Louro" Godello Valdeorras
Review Date: 07-25-2019
While our group was tasting this vintage of Louro, we attempted to categorize Godello by comparing it to other, more familiar grapes. Chardonnay shares its variability, the firmer weight, and its tendency toward orchard fruit flavors. Albariño shares some of its acidity and minerality. The aromas can be reminiscent of Chenin Blanc. But ultimately, Godello is its own masterpiece of a varietal, and this is a wonderful way to experience it. Crisp, tart apple, a touch of pineapple, and refreshing mineral texture make this a delight to drink. The oak doesn't feel heavy or overbearing; instead, it frames the fruit, giving it structure and a savory counterpoint. The last vintage of this felt a bit overripe and flabby, but the 2016 is taut with vibrant, mouthwatering acidity. This is a perfect summer wine, with or without food. Sit down, relax, and sip at your leisure.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

Westward "Single Barrel #B-236-11" K&L Exclusive Cask Strength Single Barrel American Single Malt Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 07-25-2019
So often when we taste in a professional setting, we try our best to break things down into qualities that readers can identify, interpret and evaluate with relative ease. This, however, is one of those rare occasions where a spirit bucks conventional characterization, as it is so much greater than the sum of its parts. Truthfully, I tasted this four times before writing, and each time I got a different impression; there is so much going on here. Sweet, crunchy grain; savory dough and marzipan; plum and cherry; tons of spice; and sweet caramel with a touch of fudge, all wrapped up in a taut, fiery expression of young but astoundingly complex malt. Candied almonds and chamomile in the midpalate arrive suddenly at a snappy, savory, spicy finish that lingers with dark, brooding chocolate and toasted oak. With enough water to cut the proof, suddenly it feels like a much tamer beast: salty pralines, banana and peach cobbler purr softly, with some of the heat replaced by nutmeg and allspice. Either way you sample it, this is delicious, and definitely worthy of multiple revisits.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

Barrell Bourbon "K&L Exclusive" 14 Year Old Cask Strength Single Barrel #E522 Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 07-25-2019
Sweet scents of fruit struck me right away - tangerines, apples, and almost a hint of banana - followed by a subtle fragrance of roasted nuts. On the palate, ample caramel apple and more candied nuts come in just ahead of delicate honeysuckle and vanilla. I enjoy how youthful and dynamic this feels, especially in contrast to the savory wood of other 14 year-old bourbons of late. Big fleshy fruit, chalky minerality and enchanting aromas make this a slam dunk.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

Hillrock Estate Solera Aged Single Barrel "#143-A" K&L Exclusive Cask Strength Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 07-11-2019
A wave of sticky nectars and brown sugar rushes from the glass, betraying the decadence therein. Looking past that, however, one finds subtler aromas akin to fine armagnac, and perhaps a whiff of flor as though from serious aged sherry. Stewed peaches, cherry compote and crème brûlée achieve an effortless harmony without feeling too heavy. A youthful undercurrent of sweet corn and fresh grass does remind you that this is, in fact, bourbon, but one could easily mistake this for fine brandy. Be sure to pick up this one-of-a-kind bottle before they're gone.
Price: $139.99 Add To Cart

Fukano 10 Year Old K&L Exclusive Single Cask Japanese Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 07-11-2019
Fukano once again proves that rice-based distillates can achieve flavors and concentration just as pronounced and delectable as their malted barley counterparts. The oak provides tremendous texture, but the flavors are balanced and sweet. Ample butterscotch, aromatic vanilla, candied citrus and summer flowers humbly but firmly vie for attention. The finish boasts honey and chamomile but with a spicy ginger element that offsets the sweetness perfectly. Whether a seasoned whisky afficionado or a casual newcomer, this bottle is sure to satisfy most anyone's palate.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2018 Lucia Rosé "Lucy" Santa Lucia Highlands
Review Date: 07-11-2019
Fragrant peach and wild red berries balanced by gravelly minerals make this an easy choice for those looking to elevate their drinking this rosé season. Framed by a touch of savory character on the finish, the fruit feels poised and refined. Definitely a wine worthy of the acclaimed highlands from which it hails.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
VN 92 JD 90

2018 Astrolabe Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 06-27-2019
Astrolabe arrives just in time to replace the breakout hit from Fromm and save your summer. Gorgeous tropical fruit flies out of the glass without a moment's hesitation. Tautly balanced and intensely aromatic, it defies logic with a wealth of passion fruit and guava but a firmly crunchy, dry finish. This wine is what caused us to fall in love with New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc, which is something I have had more and more trouble finding in recent months. The enviable freshness and ease will have you coming back for more every time. Get it before it's gone.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
BC 95

2007 Don Q "Limited Edition" Single Barrel Rum 750ml
Review Date: 06-27-2019
Truly a deal that is too good to pass up, this "Single Barrel" should be in everyone's cart this summer. Classic, dry dark rum has grown increasingly expensive in recent years, and I for one am excited to see something so affordable and with such high quality. Vanilla, toasted spice, a hint of molasses and whiffs of coconut combine with caramelized brown sugar to create something much greater than the sum of its parts. Whether in a cocktail, with a large rock and twist of orange, or simply served neat, this always goes down a treat.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2005 Bruichladdich Peated (Port Charlotte) 12 Year Old "Alexander Murray" Cask Strength Small Batch Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 04-25-2019
I find myself giddy with anticipation whenever I catch word of a new Port Charlotte bottling. Though this Alexander Murray cask was not what I originally expected, I was very pleasantly surprised. The strong whiff of peat on the nose dissipates, revealing a treasure trove of unique flavors. Fresh herbs, candied citrus and golden raisin form exquisite layers of flavor, married by a pleasant sea salt vein. With the peat in the back seat, we are free to appreciate apricot-glazed and cured meat with a peppery finish. The whole harmonious experience left me thirsting for more. Pick up a bottle before they disappear; you won't regret it.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2005 Laphroaig 12 Year Old "Alexander Murray" Cask Strength Small Batch Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 04-25-2019
Fans of Laphroaig should rejoice with this bottling. It's a vigorous expression of all the characteistic tones of iodine, briny sea air and burning peat smoke. The extra few years in barrel provides an underlying cocoa and a savory meat edge, finished with sweet malt and lemon zest. Subtlety is not the name of the game, but I do find this bottle a touch more nuanced than the standard 10-year offering. Overall outstanding.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2014 Bodegas Muga "Selección Especial" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 04-11-2019
Truly an astounding expression of the 2014 vintage, it begins with aromas of fresh-baked four berry pie and potpourri. Flavors of marionberry, raspberry and plum meld effortlessly with silky tannin and cocoa nibs. There is an incredible umami about this wine, born of clean earthy tones and healthy salinity. The oak is ever-present, but it lifts the profile; adding volume and texture, it enhances the subtle flavors rather than overpowering them. With such sophisticated poise and balance, this wine is an easy choice for most any occasion. I find myself wishing I had picked up a second bottle already.

2017 Collier Creek "Front Coach" Lodi Chardonnay
Review Date: 04-04-2019
Easily one of the most delightful discoveries from California of late. Papaya, guava and fresh lime burst from the glass and dance across the tastebuds. Crisp, vibrant and insanely affordable, I was impressed to find out that Collier Creek's wine is certified sustainable. I cannot find fault with this wine, except perhaps a touch of residual sugar that you won't find unless you're looking. Exceptional quality and endlessly fun, this is one to buy by the case.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

El Caballito Cerrero "Agave Chato" Blanco 46 Jalisco Destilado de Agave (750ml)
Review Date: 03-21-2019
This bottle is a must-try for agave aficionados - a perfect example of the complex, rustic flavors of a properly made agave-driven spirit. Earthy, vegetal aromas create a dramatic first impression that quickly develops secondary characteristics of bright acid and tropical fruits. The palate is marvelous, marrying grassy herbs, saline and roasted peppers in a voluptuous, mouthwatering texture. The finish is remarkably clean, carrying an impressive mineral quality and a more meaty flavor than "proper" blue weber tequila. The chato displays a wonderful umami that I rarely see in the other steam-cooked spirits coming out of Jalisco. I wish we could see more products like this, rather than the homogenized recipes created by some of the stricter regulations in the state.
Price: Hidden View Price

Mortlach 16 Year-Old "Distiller's Dram" Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml) (ships like a 1.5 L bottle due to shape)
Review Date: 03-10-2019
This is a much more serious bottling than the 12 Year Old, to be sure. The wood influence is ramped up considerably, leading to mature and complex flavors. Layers of dried fruit, cocoa, red berries, savory herbs -- thyme and fennel -- precede dense oak and ample spice, finishing with a meaty salinity and lingering notes of flaky pastry. The 16 Year packs a lot of sherry and malt character into a surprisingly affordable package.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart
WA 91

Mortlach 12 Year Old "The Wee Witchie" Single Malt Scotch Whisky 750ml (ships like a 1.5 L bottle due to shape)
Review Date: 03-06-2019
This makes for a fantastic introduction to the Mortlach line, showcasing vibrant fruit while retaining that savory, meaty character that fans of the distillery know and love. A youthful nose promises good, balanced acid while teasing orchard fruit. The palate delivers ripe apple, golden raisin, toasted oak and vanilla. There's a nuttiness here that rounds out the profile, providing umami throughout the whole experience. Overall, this is a fun and tasty dram for a great price.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

1998 Chateau de Vacquié 20 Year Old Unfiltered Haut-Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 03-06-2019
Perhaps more poised and restrained than the decadent 1991 vintage bottling, this Armagnac is by no means lean or lacking in flavor. Instead, it is a powerhouse of caramel, plums and raisins with mouthwatering spice and bright acid. As I tasted more, crumb cake and coffee followed poached pears, countered by vanilla and a hint of pepper. Truly a mind-boggling value from a part of Armagnac few aficionados have ventured. Hats off to Bruno and this magnificent brandy.
Price: Hidden View Price

1991 Chateau de Vacquié 27 Year Old Unfiltered Haut-Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 03-06-2019
When I heard the story of Vacquie from our buyer, I didn't know what to expect. Haut-Armagnac is seldom talked about in the domain of high-end spirits, so I braced myself for the first foray into this 100% ugni blanc juice. I was rewarded with one of the most impressive and mouthwatering Armagnacs I've ever had the pleasure of sampling. Extraordinarily rich and surprisingly youthful, this boasts a brilliantly floral and slightly tropical nose. The flavors are full and approachable yet refined and complex. Dried dates, sweet syrup and fruit cobbler play beautifully alongside tremendous spice and a firm but dynamic structure. I was shocked to find this comes in just under $100, fully expecting something in the $120-$150 range. The finish is extraordinarily long, leaving a sense of faceted flavors in a gem-like structure. I couldn't help but pour myself a little more to savor the taste a little longer. I cannot recommend this highly enough.
Price: Hidden View Price

2016 Mas Codina Cabernet Sauvignon Penedes
Review Date: 03-03-2019
One of our favorite Cava producers, Mas Codina dabbles in a diverse selection of grapes on the side. This Cabernet is impossibly good for the price, boasting ripe blackberries, soft tannins and a dynamic core of earth, mocha and peppery herbs. It is a dream with food or on its own, and an easy choice for dinner parties. Yet another testament to the tremendous value offered in Spanish wines.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$8.99

2016 Viña Olartia Crianza Rioja
Review Date: 02-28-2019
I was struck immediately by the dense, beautiful color - almost like a polished gem. Whiffs of fresh-tilled earth, black olive and exquisite floral tones further delight the senses and entice you toward your first sip. On the palate, blackberries and dark cherries ride a plush, velvety texture through a charming midpalate complete with vibrant acidity and subtle cocoa nibs. Toasted oak and pleasant earth create a firm backbone that holds this wine together beautifully. You would be hard-pressed to find a better bottle for this price.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Wathen’s Barrel Proof "Barrel #40 Los Angeles" K&L Exclusive Cask Strength Single Barrel Straight Kentucky Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 02-21-2019
These Wathen's barrel picks are completely unlike anything else on the bourbon market today. Whiffs of banana and nut give way to fresh cut grass and sweet cereal. The complex taste features salted caramel, praline, ripe banana and ample barrel spice. Butterscotch and toasted wood linger on the long finish. A few drops of water add brown sugar and nutmeg to the fruit and highlight the vanilla and oak that were initially hidden just beneath the surface. One might balk at the price, but it's definitely worth it for something so unique.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2010 Caol Ila 8 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Islay Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 02-21-2019
One of my favorite aspects of Caol Ila is how the smell evokes a sea breeze on a cloudy but eerily beautiful coastline. Moss, salty air and fragrant barley make for a friendly introduction to the dram. What follows is perfectly integrated smoke and raging spice. There's a hint of bell pepper there, accompanied by smoked meat and sweet orchard fruit. With water, the softness of the grain really shines through, bringing ripe pear and golden apple. The finish is long and savory compounded by subtle cocoa and a tinge of pine. This barrel really shows what Caol Ila is all about.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2017 Bishop's Peak San Luis Obispo County Chardonnay
Review Date: 02-21-2019
The folks at Talley have been making some of our favorite Chardonnay in the area for quite a while. While their Bishop's Peak line sees less oak, it undoubtedly delivers the same quality and value of their main brand. This wine brims with tropical fruit - guava, passion fruit and melon - and finishes brisk and clean. The subtle oak adds texture and a longer finish, but sits more in the background, letting the fruit and acid shine. At this price, it may become your go-to everyday Chardonnay.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
VN 91 WE 90

Page: 1 2 next