Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Morgan Laurie

Morgan Laurie

Reviews

2013 Bagueri Ribolla Gialla Slovenia
Review Date: 10-13-2018
The nose on this wine is unctuous and powerful, filled to the brim with ripe, fleshy peaches and apricots, saline tinged honey, roasted citrus and yellow flowers. The palate is textured and full but has a wonderful lift of acidity to keep it light on its feet. This is a perfect wine for the upcoming Holiday season and would make a natural match for the rich, butter and cream laden dishes of Fall and Winter. A must try if you're looking for a unique, cold weather white.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

Fallet-Dart "Cuvée de Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-07-2018
Fallet-Dart is always a fantastic value and this under $30 bottling is no exception. Aged on the lees for four years, this is rich, powerful and toasty without feeling flabby on the palate. There is a bracing line of acidity that cuts through that leesy richness. The palate has bright, citrusy notes to balance all the richness of the nose. A great value, so go ahead, drink Champagne when you're thirsty.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2012 Franck Bonville "Pur Avize" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 08-21-2018
Franck Bonville is one of my favorite direct imports and a go to when I need a solid Champagne that wont break the bank. His new single site series focuses on producing Champagne from the best plots in each village. He produces using all Grand Cru Chardonnay grapes and vinifies in all stainless to maintain verve. Out of the three selections, this has the most edge to it. It's a little wild and funky with aromas of wet hay, wild flowers, Parmesan and baguette. Like having a picnic in a field after a rain storm! The palate is steely and really pretty all at once with an almost floral note rounding out the freshness on the finish.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

2012 Franck Bonville "Pur Oger" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 08-21-2018
Franck Bonville is one of my favorite direct imports and a go to when I need a solid Champagne that wont break the bank. His new single site series focuses on producing Champagne from the best plots in each village. He produces using all Grand Cru Chardonnay grapes and vinifies in all stainless to maintain verve. The "Pur Oger" is super clean and crisp on the palate with a refreshing, mineral driven finish. The nose has a crushed seashell and saline note with aromas of chalk, crunchy green pears, jasmine and freshly sliced apples. Just outstanding!
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

A.D. Coutelas "Cuvée 1809" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-21-2018
This Champagne is made entirely of the 2012 harvest, although not designated a vintage Champagne. A 70/30 blend of Chardonnay/Pinot Noir, this is done in exclusively barrique providing a rich, spiced nose. Notes of spice cake, honey baked apples, roasted lemons and almond brittle on the nose lead into a rich, slightly toasted palate with a crisp vein of acidity to keep things balanced. Incredibly delicious and fantastic for a gift or special occasion!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Superiore Brut
Review Date: 08-13-2018
This is a delightful little Prosecco that delivers a lot for a small price tag! Fruity and floral, this wine has notes of ripe pears, peach blossoms and key lime pie. It's dry and crisp with a creamy mouth feel and a touch of sweetness to balance the bracing minerality. Truly a steal at $12.99!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

A.D. Coutelas "Cuvée Louis Victor" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-24-2018
This is a really cool take on Champagne with a solera style barrel being the base wine. The added richness and complexity from the perpetual blend adds tons of character with aromas of toasted hazelnuts, spice cake, chalk and roasted apple. A really incredible bottling and completely unique, especially considering the price point. Stunning!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Jean-Louis Denois "Bulles d'Argile" Extra Brut (Sans Soufre)
Review Date: 06-19-2018
This sulfur free bubbly is the perfect sparkling wine for any occasion. Bright, fresh and youthful, this little value sparkler is a steal. Crisp Asian pears, Anjou pear pastilles and green banana give this easygoing wine quaffability, and before you know, the bottle will be empty! It can easily be sipped alone as an aperitif or paired with light picnic or party friendly fare.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Egrot (formerly Elisabeth Goutorbe) Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-16-2018
This bottling from Elisabeth Goutorbe showcases why our direct imports are such a steal. Balanced, elegant and charming, all under $35. The palate is rich and complex while also having tons of fresh minerality and bright acidity. Tons of black cherry with a little toast and hazelnut. One to grab for any occasion or gathering and sure to please even the most finicky of palates.
Price: $36.99 Add To Cart

Mas Codina Cava Brut Reserva Penedès
Review Date: 01-29-2018
This truly is one of the best values in sparkling wine we have. It's fresh, crisp and drinks well above it's price. Dry with small bubbles and an elegant mouth feel, it goes down (almost) too easily. Notes of green apple, stone fruits and a slight nutty richness make this an easy choice for any occasion!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2009 Baron-Fuenté "Grand Millesime" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 01-19-2018
Another fantastic bottle from Baron Fuente! The nose starts off with apple butter and poached pears, then gives way to a rich kouign amann pastry, roasted lemon and yeast. The palate has an intense nuttiness, almost like eating a handful of raw hazelnuts while still providing a clean mineral note and vibrant acidity. A great bottle to pick up for your next Champagne craving.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2014 Bedouet "Expression du Pallet Vieilles Vignes" Muscadet Sèvre et Maine
Review Date: 12-19-2017
Just in time for Dungeness crab season, this fresh, mineral driven offering from Bedouet is the perfect accompaniment to a heaping plate of crustaceans! Notes of chalk, lemon flesh and salted ripe pineapple provide a clean, bright palate with zippy acidity. This would also make a natural pairing for rich cheese, oysters and fish in beurre blanc.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

La Petite Marquise Crémant de Loire Brut Rosé
Review Date: 11-27-2017
This old favorite is back again just in time for the holidays! Perfect as an aperitif, a bottle to toast with or something to open for friends and family who drop by, this little bottle of bubbles is sure to please everyone! Fresh, zippy, lively and full of finesse, this is an inexpensive gem to pick up a few bottles of so you'll always be prepared.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Michel Arnould "La Grande Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-23-2017
I tried this for the first time recently and was thoroughly impressed with the quality of this sub-$40 Champagne. Located in Verzenay, a historical Grand Cru rich in calcareous soil, this Champagne is full of ripe white cherries and hazelnuts with a touch of toasty croissant. It's balanced beautifully between richness and brightness with a bracing vein of acidity running through. Pick up a bottle for your next dinner date or party.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Louis Brochet 1er Cru Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-10-2017
I always love when we do a Champagne tasting and today's was especially fun, tasting through some of our best values in the category. This bottle was a definite winner for me and one of my favorites in the lineup! The nose is so lovely and I just kept bringing the glass up to smell it again and again. It's floral and fresh. There's a note of cherry blossoms, saline, crisp green apples and crunchy red pears. The palate is so clean and has a really nice creaminess. What a beautiful Champagne for an amazing price! I'll definitely be taking this home to dive into this bottle a little further.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Jean-Louis Denois "Tradition" Extra Brut Reserve
Review Date: 08-29-2017
Looking for Champagne taste on a beer budget? This is the solution! With a creamy mouth feel, delicate bubbles, and a slightly toasty, yeasty goodness you'd think you were drinking Champagne if I poured you a glass and never let you see the bottle. Great for parties, weddings, or really anytime you want to have a glass of bubbles, this $15 sparkler knocks it out of the park!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 08-08-2017
This is everything I like my Brut Rose to be. Bright red fruits with raspberry and cranberry, chalky minerality and a creamy mouth feel. The little details of the wine making process add up to a big difference in the way this wine tastes. The smallest amount of oak barrel aging and allowing the wine to age on a cork versus a crown cap give it a slightly nutty complexity that makes this wine taste like it should cost more than it does. As they say, the devil is in the details!
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique Assemblage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-08-2017
One of my favorite things about tasting Champagne, besides the fact that I absolutely love Champagne, is the wide range of styles and flavor profiles you experience. This is weighty, complex and slightly rich on the palate with a long finish and a lovely acidity. It reminded me of an apple upside down cake; roasted apples, spicy, yeasty and delicious. This is definitely one of my new favorite direct imports!

2010 Bois-Malot, Bordeaux Supérieur
Review Date: 07-22-2017
Who says a good Bordeaux has to cost an arm and a leg! 2010 was a good all around vintage for Bordeaux lending structure and power to the wines. This wine is a fantastic value and shows especially well with a little air. There is a nice balance of dark, rich fruit, freshness and earth. At the price point this wine is at, buy one for your next steak and keep one to open in the future and see how it evolves over the next few years.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart