Local Delivery Available Curbside 11am-6pm Daily Stores Temporarily Closed

Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Stefanie Juelsgaard

Stefanie Juelsgaard
Stefanie Juelsgaard  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service


Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
Canard-Duchêne Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-26-2020
This wine has an incredibly expressive nose, with flavors flying out of the glass and hitting the intrigue button hard. With quite a toasty palate I was surprised by the amount of fruit it showed. Peaches and citrus dominate and the time spent on lees gives a creamy, toasted character, which I originally though may have been barrel aging. The all stainless steel aging serves it well with a crisp acidity lingering on the finish. I love the hefty dose of Meunier as it gives depth and richness to produce a lingering finish.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

1998 Domaine de Jouanda - Cask #312 "K&L Exclusive" Bas-Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 02-28-2020
Much lighter in profile than the 2004, this bottling has more oak tannin and taste, but with a much lighter body and less heat from the alcohol. Sweet brown sugar and prune blend seamlessly with a light dusting of cinnamon and nutmeg. If you are after an Armagnac on the more delicate side, this should be your choice from a historic estate.
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart

2004 Domaine de Jouanda - Cask #43 "K&L Exclusive" Bas-Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 02-28-2020
This is a powerhouse Armagnac, with plenty of spice, vanilla, butterscotch, and toasted almond notes. The length is incredible and persistent, which is not surprising given the 19 years of barrel aging it has seen. Not for the novice, this Armagnac is for those who want maximum flavor and impact.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

Ragnaud-Sabourin "K&L Exclusive Fontevieille #35" Cognac (750ml)
Review Date: 02-28-2020
The nose on the No 35 shows more oak and vanilla than No 20, but the mouthfeel is still surprisingly delicate. This Cognac is very smooth, yet not overly polished, as it still exhibits plenty of spice and punchy fruit flavors. In my opinion the Ragnaud-Sabourin offerings are the best Cognacs on the shelf and any novice or aficionado will not be disappointed with this bottling.
Price: $169.99 Add To Cart

Ragnaud Sabourin K&L Exclusive Reserve Speciale #20 Cognac (750ml)
Review Date: 02-28-2020
If you buy any Cognac this year, make it on of the Ragnaud-Sabourin's. My favorite producer in Cognac is back and they do not disappoint. The No 20 is so delicate and special with an incredibly fresh and fruity nose. It definitely exhibits the Ugni Blanc and Folle Blanche flavors as they are very careful to let them shine, not cover them up with excessive oak. Notes of whipped cream and Christmas spice round out the palate for the perfect finish. Top marks!
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

Corner Creek 10 Year Old Kentucky Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 02-28-2020
Sweet and delicately soft without being cloyingly rich or overly spicy, this is a perfectly balanced whiskey, made to please pretty much anyone. Hints of citrus and almond meet caramel and yeasty bread. I didn't bother adding water to this one as it went down so easily on its own. This is my new go-to recommendation on the shelf for a multi-purpose, delicious Bourbon.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2016 Bootleg Napa Valley Red Blend
Review Date: 02-25-2020
We get to benefit from the abundance of fruit the Jackson family got in 2016 by drinking Bootleg, made with declassified fruit from all their best wineries including Mt. Brave and Freemark Abbey. The composition changes every year and this is the best version I have ever tasted. Fans of "The Prisoner" red blend will love this one, especially at $20 cheaper.
Price: Hidden View Price

2016 Round Pond Rutherford Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 02-25-2020
From acclaimed winemaker Thomas Rivers Brown comes this phenomenal representation of Rutherford Cab. Very classic in style and definitely indicative of place, this wine has rich, dark fruit, and a strong backbone. It is drinking lovely now, but will definitely hold for another 10 years if desired. Don't miss out on the great discounted price on this one.

2018 Cristom "Mt. Jefferson Cuvée" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 02-25-2020
This Cristom always over-delivers for the price and exhibits all the classic Oregon flavors. Made from mostly estate fruit, this wine is snappy, dusky, and well-balanced with dark red fruits. The edition of around 40% whole cluster gives nice structure and some punchy earthiness that makes it stand out. One of my favorite Oregon labels time and time again.
Price: $29.95 Add To Cart

2003 Benrinnes 15 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Refill Hogshead Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 01-23-2020
Lighter in profile than many others on the shelf, this is a great deal in Single Malt whisky. The palate is very honeyed with crisp ripe pear, orange rind and sweet/sour lemon drop candy. A touch of cinnamon on the end adds some great spice and complexity. There's nothing not to like about this one, and it lends itself as one of the most approachable Single Malt Scotches on the shelf.
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart

Rare Perfection 15 Year Old Canadian Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 01-23-2020
The 14 and 15 year old Rare Perfection bottlings are two of the best and most unique whiskeys I have ever had the pleasure of tasting. The extra long aging in the cool Canadian environment have resulted in a spirit unlike any I have tasted before. These taste slightly more wheat-based given the tropical notes, toasted coconut, and vanilla custard sense on the palate. The palate on the 15 year old is slightly more viscous than the 14 year old, and the higher proof obviously adds a bit more of a punch. The flavors seem amplified in this bottling versus the delicate profile of the 14 year. Baked sweet grains with burnt caramel and lemon round out the palate and create a spirit that is unbelievably delicious. This is truly a rare find.
Price: $189.99 Add To Cart

Rare Perfection 14 Year Old Canadian Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 01-23-2020
Both the Rare Perfection 14 and 15 year old are two of the most unique and delicious whiskeys I have tasted, EVER! These whiskeys were originally intended to age for a short period of time, but were forgotten about in the distillery's sale and the extra time resulted in a fascinating drink. The palate of the 14 year old is buttery with strong coconut notes, Madagascar vanilla bean, brown sugar, and tropical fruit. Almonds, butterscotch, and cinnamon linger on the end, but very little wood tannin comes into play. This is without a doubt one of the best whiskeys I have ever tasted and am a little sad I may never come across something like this again, it is that unique.
Price: $159.99 Add To Cart

2018 Te Mata "Bullnose" Syrah Hawke's Bay
Review Date: 01-16-2020
Te Mata has long been one of my top go-to's for reds out of New Zealand, and this Syrah only further supports my undying love for them. This is a powerhouse of a wine with no shortage of acid and structure. New Zealand has the ultimate climate for bold, powerful Syrahs and Hawke's Bay has long been recognized for their ideal conditions regarding this varietal. Dark fruited with plenty of spice (that I'm very happy to say is not smothered by oak) and a long finish define this wine and make it the perfect accompaniment to a rack of lamb. I would probably hold onto this for a year or two to let it tone down a bit, but definitely wouldn't turn it away now with a little decanting.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

1976 L'Encantada 42 Year Old "Domaine Le Sablé #19" Bas-Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 01-16-2020
In what seems like a complete 180 degree turn in style from the other L'Encantadas, the Le Sablé throws out flavors of maraschino cherry, peach cobbler, and dried candied fruit. The body is much lighter in weight and the vanilla present reminds me of the taste of silky eggnog. Little to no wood tannin keep this bottling lighter and fresh and makes for a killer drink pre- or post-dinner.
Price: Hidden View Price

1988 L'Encantada 30 Year Old "Domaine Le Frêche #17" Bas-Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 01-16-2020
I think this bottling of Le Freche is what makes a hallmark Armagnac and what distinguishes it so independently from Cognac. There are no highly sculpted edges on this one. There is spice and robustness, with more of a fruit profile than the Lous Pibous. The wood tannins are there, but seem very subtle for an Armagnac with 30 years of oak aging. Lightly sweet, but not sticky or crazy rich.
Price: Hidden View Price

1995 L'Encantada 24 Year Old "Lous Pibous #146" Bas-Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 01-16-2020
A blend of turbinado sugar and wood tannin power through on the palate and the very long finish makes the ABV seem higher than 56.4%. Rich and lush with a slightly candied nose, orange zest, and butterscotch. This is the perfect ending to a meal with its supple dessert qualities and bold undertones.
Price: Hidden View Price

Sonoma Distilling Co. "K&L Exclusive" Straight Cherrywood Smoked Cask Strength Bourbon
Review Date: 01-09-2020
It's really neat to have such a unique and well-made product out of our own backyard. The laborious use of a pot still increases the concentration and gives incredible length and complexity. The smoked cherrywood offers a light smokiness with a strong Bourbon-y backbone. The third degree charred barrel gives that great richness and warmth, but doesn't overwhelm or compete with the smoked cherrywood. A lot of care and dedication go into this special one-off bottling and that effort is evident in this super tasty whiskey.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2012 Fallet-Dart Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-13-2019
With four hundred years of winemaking experience under their belt, you'd better believe the Fallet Dart Estate knows the way to make a phenomenal Champagne. There are floral notes from the Chardonnay, a silky, creamy texture, and great minerality and freshness. It always amazes me how Gary manages to keep so many great wines in the under $40 range and I'm certainly glad he can. This is one I will definitely be picking up for my holiday festivities.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2005 Laphroaig 13 Year Old "Chieftain's" K&L Exclusive Single Sherry Butt Cask Strength Unchillfiltered Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-23-2019
Laphroaig very infrequently releases anything new, let alone a single cask of something new. Fans of the classic Laphroaig style will not be disappointed here, but will also be pleased to find new tastes and expressions. Rich texture and creamy peat notes get a kick from a slight jalapeno pepper spice in the back. This extremely limited and special release could retail for much higher given its scarcity. Lucky for us it doesn't.
Price: $159.99 Add To Cart

1979 North British 40 Year Old "Old Particular" Single Refill Barrel Cask Strength Single Grain Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-23-2019
People often disregard the single grains in favor of single malts for their prestige, but there is no way you will find a whisky of this quality and age statement at this price for a single malt. We are lucky to have such devoted and fastidious spirits buyers who take the time to bring the best products back to our customer at K&L and this bottling is one of their best finds. Bottled by one of the most trusted names in Scotch whisky, Douglas Laing, the North British is pure decadence, with definite custard notes and a long, slightly spicy finish. I was a huge fan of our last release of North British and didn't think it could better, but was proven quite wrong after tasting this release.
Price: $299.99 Add To Cart

2008 Pierre Paillard "La Grand Récolte" Grand Cru Extra Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-19-2019
What do you get when you combine the critically acclaimed 2008 vintage with one of the most innovative and focused families in Champagne? The best sparkling wine I've tasted this year, that's what. Unmistakable in its quality, I bought several bottles of this as soon as it came in before I even tasted it. Best decision ever. The high acid nature of 2008 combined with the low dosage means this wine will continue to age without fault for another couple decades. I hope I can hang onto a bottle or two for a while to see how it evolves, but that seems pretty unlikely given how incredibly tasty it is now. It would be impossible to overstate how good this wine truly is.
Top Value!
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2018 Matt Connell "Rendition" Pinot Noir Central Otago
Review Date: 10-31-2019
I was surprised when I was told this Pinot Noir was from Central Otago as it doesn't carry the dark, brooding, richer fruit that is typical of the region. This wine is bright and focused with a good amount of acidity and high-toned tannin. This is the ultimate food Pinot as many can be too sweet and compete with the dish. The crisp, mineral character of this one makes it complementary instead of battling against other flavors. Certainly this winemaker has had decades to develop this unique and beautiful style and I keep coming back to it over and over again.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2012 Schramsberg North Coast Brut Rosé Sparkling Wine (1.5L)
Review Date: 10-31-2019
I've always considered Schramsberg to be the closest style to Champagne you can get in the USA for sparkling wine. Super crisp, clean, and vibrant, this is a wonder given this wine is now 7 years old. This winery has always put an incredible amount of hand labor into their wines and the perfect balance this one displays is evidence of that hard work. This is perfect accompaniment to your holiday table, whether as an appertif or paired with dinner. Even as a magnum, I know this one wouldn't last long at my house.

2018 Bonny Doon Vineyard "Le Cigare Volant - Cuvee Oumuamua" Monterey County Rhône Blend
Review Date: 10-29-2019
It's been a few years since we've seen a Rhone blend such as this from Bonny Doon, because they weren't reaching the level of quality Randall wanted. The fact that they have spent years perfecting this wine, and now it is finally for release, means it is something pretty special. Fresh and bright red fruit with medium weight body makes this a crowd-pleaser and a fantastic food pairing wine. The cooler climate sites keep this wine from becoming a fruit or alcohol bomb. I'm excited to see this style of wine back in rotation for Bonny Doon and sincerely hope they keep it up.
Price: $19.95 Add To Cart

2017 Quartz Reef "Bendigo Estate Single Vineyard" Pinot Noir Central Otago (Biodynamic)
Review Date: 10-25-2019
While Central Otago may still be a young wine producing region, having only come into the international scene in the early 1980s, its winemakers have quickly become some of the most masterful in the world. Rudi Bauer is certainly part of this group of maestros, consistently producing some of the best Pinot Noirs we carry at K&L. Central Otago is known for producing dark-fruited, brooding wines. This wine does carry those notes, but has plenty of freshness and power to boot. Herbal and earthy, this wine is elegant, not rich and high-alcohol. By far one of the best Pinot Noirs I've had this year.
Top Value!

2012 Nicolas Maillart "Franc de Pied" 1er Cru Brut Nature Champagne
Review Date: 10-15-2019
Meaning "of the French foot", this wine is a tribute to the French rootstocks that sit on the base of the vines. They survived phylloxera in their sandy soils and did not need to undergo grafting to American rootstocks. There are very few ungrafted vineyard Champagnes available today and quite a rare occurrence. 100% barrel fermented Pinot Noir with zero dosage, this comes from a single plot and is very limited in its production. Truly a beautiful, artisinal wine from our newest direct import, this is a special bottling.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

2015 Nicolas Maillart "Jolivettes" Grand Cru Brut Nature Blanc de Noirs Champagne
Review Date: 10-15-2019
Made from what was one of the warmest vintages Champagne has ever seen, this is a rich, creamy style of wine, with serious weight and length. Made from 100% Pinot Noir from the esteemed Grand Gru area of Bouzy, this wine is 100% barrel fermented with only 1 g/L of dosage. If anyone really wanted to deep dive into the world of Champagne and widen their glance a the region, this is a great example of what Champagne can become in warm vintages. It manages to achieve its richer, more opulent style with almost no help from the winemakers.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2012 Nicolas Maillart "Les Chaillots Gillis" 1er Cru Brut Nature Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 10-15-2019
Coming from a single plot and single press load, this is a very small production Champagne with a not so small flavor profile. 100% barrel fermented and made of 100% Chardonnay from vines planted in 1963. I was shocked to find out the dosage here was 0 g/L as I assumed much higher from its richer, sweeter-fruited texture. Most full-Chardonnay, zero dosage Champagnes would be quite zippy at this stage, but in warm vintages such as 2012, the wines shine full of flavor and concentration. This is an example of very good winemaking.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Nicolas Maillart "Platine" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-15-2019
The bright acidity on this guy is palpable, surprising given that it spends 4 years on the lees and is 40% barrel fermented. This new direct import producer may be the one I'm most excited about this year. Everything I've seen from them has been beyond expectation, and at this price point is sure to stand alongside Launois and Baron Fuente in near-future as must have's at K&L.

2007 Alexandre Le Brun "Cuvée Fascination" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 10-15-2019
This is a unique take on Blanc de Blanc and one of the more complex and intriguing ones on our shelves. Grown in very pure chalk, this wine retains a natural freshness and high acidity. The winemakers does a great job of balancing that by aging his Chardonnay in barrel, to round it out and lend some lovely toasty quality. When Bollinger buys he majority of your fruit, it must mean you are going something right as a growers. He is doing something very right as a winemaker as well.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Lanson Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 10-15-2019
Though this wine carries the exact same breakdown of varietals as the Lanson "Black Label", the two wines could not be more different. The addition of still red wine gives infinite body and length, a great fruit presence, and a gorgeous salmon color. Capable of cellaring for years thanks to its bright acidity and lack of malolactic fermentation, Lanson has shown what a great, long-lived house can truly be capable of.

Lanson "Black Label" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-15-2019
Lanson has taken the past few years to vastly improve its quality and practices, and its efforts have certainly paid off. With 4 years of aging on the lees and 30% reserve wine going back to 1998, one would think this would be a very toasty, rich Champagne. That is not the case. Because this wine does not go through malolactic fermentation there is a beautiful line of acidity here, thought the brioche and slightly yeasty characters still peak through. One of the original Champagne houses, dating back to the 1760's, Lanson needs to find its way onto your radar as a very affordable, delicious, powerhouse producer.
Top Value!

Old Potrero "K&L Exclusive Barrel #12" 63.33% Single Malt Straight Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 10-09-2019
This is a straight rye whiskey to the max. Definitely not lacking in spice and power, this reminds me a lot of the "Red Hots" candies we dared to stuff in our mouths as kids. The charred American oak barrel influence is more present in this whiskey than Barrel #13, with dark chocolate, coffee grounds, and leather notes dominating. The versatility of 100% rye is astounding. We ended up with two very different barrels, each fascinating and delicious in their own right. If you like the heat and a bigger style whiskey, this guy is for you. If your a little trepidatious or like you booze a little softer, go for the Barrel #13 offering. Or try both side by side to compare. Both are high impact and bold on flavor, but in very different ways.
Price: Hidden View Price

Old Potrero "K&L Exclusive Barrel #13" 63.21% Single Malt Straight Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 10-09-2019
I'm always super happy to support our local distilleries, and even more so when they put out a product like this! Old Potrero is consistently high quality. and I love to taste 100% rye whiskeys, as you don't come across them all that often. It shows a lot of skill on the producer's part to ferment 100% rye into a whiskey of this caliber. This is on the sweeter side for a straight rye, and the classic rye spices are slightly more subdued in this cask, though I'm certainly not hating on that. It shows the versatility of the grain and the skill of Old Potrero to coax something this smooth out of a brasher initial product. At 63.21%, this isn't shy on the heat, but the sweeter fruit and spice profile help tame the burn.
Price: Hidden View Price

Maker's Mark 46 K&L Exclusive "Barrel #5" Private Select Kentucky Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 10-08-2019
Marker's Mark's focus has always been on producing quality whiskey vs simply pumping out quantity. In this unique single barrel designed by our K&L Spirits team, you get something that is totally one-off, special, and won't be seen again. Boasting more bold, rich, true to bourbon flavors of butterscotch, biscuit, and vanilla bean, this whiskey is everything you would want in a classic American spirit. Very smooth and a little sweet with a creme brulee-like character.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Maker's Mark 46 K&L Exclusive "Barrel #6" Private Select Kentucky Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 10-08-2019
While Barrel #5 may play into a more classic, true-to-form style of American bourbon, this Barrel #6 hits you with a lot more exotic spice and lifted character. Pretty, with fewer American oak notes, this is a fun break from the classic Maker's Mark profile. This is a phenomenal example of how much flavor the combination of staves can add to a whisky. A true one-off, single barrel that won't be back once it's gone.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Fallet-Dart "Cuvée de Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-05-2019
The Fallet-Dart house has a mind blowing history with 17 generations behind the line to perfect their Champagne and perfect it they have. With majority Pinot Meunier and four years of aging sur lees this bottle shows a richer, toastier style while still showcasing brightness and freshness hard to achieve with this blend. I love that Fallet-Dart is not afraid to experiment with a Pinot Meunier heavy blend, though it is not by chance it turned out phenomenally with the clear dedication and hard work in the craft they put in year after year.
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2014 Rhys "Bearwallow Vineyard" Anderson Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 08-23-2019
The winemakers at Rhys have spent years in Burgundy trying to learn the farming techniques and winemaking methodologies that result in a truly great bottle of wine, and I believe they have harnessed that knowledge in this bottling. Long a wait-list only winery, this exclusive brand is now available to the general public, and K&L is the first and largest single retailer of this producer. They are experts in both Anderson Valley and Santa Cruz Mountains varietals. This particular bottling definitely carries the classic Burgundy flavor profile. Medium-bodied with dusty tannin, well-incorporated minerality, and soft red fruits, this wine feels shy and so expressive at the same time. It's not punchy and in your face, but subtle and incredibly complex. One of the best Pinots I've had this year.

2018 Hanzell "Sebella" Sonoma Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 08-02-2019
Consistently one of the staff favorite Domestic Chardonnays, the 2018 Hanzell "Sebella" wowed us again with its right down the middle flavor profile. This is one of the few Chardonnays on the shelf I would feel confident giving to any customer because it hits all elements so perfectly without skewing too far in any direction. With fermentation being completed in stainless steel tanks and aging done in neutral barrel, there is no oak profile for this wine to hide behind like many other wineries rely on. Hanzell also blocks malolactic fermentation, giving the super bright, fresh profile that the K&L staff really gets excited about. I almost hate to admit it, but I like this offering better than their more expensive "Estate" bottling because it so approachable and delicious simultaneously.
Top Value!

2016 Marietta "Game Trail" Estate Yorkville Highlands Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 07-11-2019
There is a lot more power and structure to this wine than I expected. I can see why my colleague Ryan Woodhouse thought it would pass for a Howell Mountain Cab. I have always been a fan of the Marietta wines, but am used to drinking the more fruit-forward Zin's and Rhone blends. This is great new side of the winery for me to explore and I will definitely make sure this is put in front of as many customers as possible, especially at this price point. In a world where CA Cab has become crazy expensive, this a refreshing and fantastic find!
Top Value!

Suntory "Hibiki Japanese Harmony" Japanese Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 07-11-2019
I was particularly excited to try the 'Hibiki Harmony' since it seems all of the Japanese whisky's are becoming so popular they sell out before most people get a crack at them. There is a definite sherry note present on the nose, and the palate is light, yet rich simultaneously. The Japanese whisky's generally seem to show as more elegant and prettier than those from other countries and this one fits that description perfectly. Though we did receive good stock this time, it won't last with the following the 'Harmony' has. Don't miss this opportunity because it probably won't come again and it's only going to become harder to acquire.
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart

The 86 Co. Ford's Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 07-11-2019
With most Gin's sitting in the $30+ price range these days, it's really nice to see one of this quality at an affordable everyday price, because I will be drinking it everyday this Summer. Super smooth and full of citrus, jasmine, with a slight sweetness from the wheat, this may be the best London Dry Gin on our shelves.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2017 Flowers Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-05-2019
The remote location of Flowers on the very edge of the Sonoma Coast appellation always results in unique, terroir-driven Pinot Noir. Light, elegant, and ethereal Pinots are the benchmark of this producer and they continue to stun time and time again. Head winemaker Chantal Forthun has years of experience working in this site-specific region and knows how to coax a beautiful wine out of this sometimes difficult environment. This is a K&L staple for good reason as it continues to impress staff and customers year after year.

2016 Skyline (Thomas Fogarty) California Red Blend
Review Date: 05-31-2019
This is my new favorite easy-drinking red in the store! What a fantastic blend from Nathan Kandler, one of the top winemakers in California. The team at Thomas Fogarty knows how to find great fruit fromlegendary vineyards in the area and they blended it seemlessly into this under-$15 beauty. This is going to be your ultimate BBQ wine this Summer, but has enough body and interest to really work for any season. Fans of the Sobon Rocky Top and Marietta Lot wines should definitely give this one a go.
Top Value!
Price: $14.95 Add To Cart

Littlemill "Old Malt Cask" 29 Year Old K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 05-30-2019
I know we may tend to over-use the phrase "don't miss this one" at K&L, but you it really rings true on this incredible bottling from the now closed Littlemill distillery. You will LITERALLY never see an offer like this again for this whisky. With its other age statements selling in the thousands of dollars, it's a little mind-boggling we have it for $250. Our spirits buyers truly worked their magic on this one. Though we hope to see Loch Lomond Distillery open it up again eventually, nothing can compare to what this highly sought-after distillery made 29 years ago. The nose is quite sweet, with briochy, light butterscotch notes. This continues on the palate, but with a hefty kick from spice to bring balance. This is one of the best whiskys I've had in some time and it's made all the more special knowing it will never cross my path again.
Price: $249.99 Add To Waiting List

Mortlach 20 Year Old "Cowie's Blue Seal" Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml) (ships like a 1.5L bottle due to shape)
Review Date: 05-18-2019
This is one of the truest expressions of a Mortlach whisky, with subtle power, perfectly melded characters, and a rich, lingering palate. Carrying the most umami notes of the three expressions, the meatiness is well balanced by dark plumy fruits and Christmas spice. Blackberry and cacao lead and these flavors are backed by earth, leather, and a very subtle barrel char. Though this is a bit more of a splurge, it’s not too hard to justify from such a classic, highly-respected producer.
Price: $199.99 Add To Cart

Krug "Grande Cuvée" 167 Ème Édition Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-02-2019
Though 2011 (the base wines for this edition) may not have been the ideal year, that means no other high-end Krug bottlings, such as the Grand Cuvee, were made that year. Instead, all that gorgeous fruit went into this bottle. Krug enthusiasts may seek out the great vintages, but they may be missing out on something as spectacular as this. I expected the Krug 167 to be much tighter out of the gate as its latest release, but it was in fact the opposite. It was open and toasty with the perfect integration of fruit to richness. Krug is without a doubt on top of the list for almost every staff member at K&L for high-end Champagne. They have never missed the mark on quality and the 167 Edition is no exception.

Cotswolds Dry Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 04-17-2019
There is a lot of hand labor that goes into producing this gin and the taste certainly reflects those efforts. They peel hundreds of limes and grapefruits every week to get that fresh citrus note in there and all other botanicals are hand-selected for purity of expression. This gin is creamy and lively, showcasing floral and citrus notes, with just a touch of spice. Don't be alarmed if your gin turns cloudy after adding tonic or ice - that's just the incredible amount of botanical oils left in for phenomenal flavor.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2017 Fromm "Clayvin Vineyard" Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 02-15-2019
One of Fromm’s single vineyard offerings, the 2017 Clayvin Vineyard Pinot Noir is much more brooding, with dark, supple fruits, earthy spice, and a long finish, and offers a fascinating contrast to the other single vineyard bottlings.

2016 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 02-13-2019
The dedication to their vineyards, the biodynamic farming practices, and the light hand the Flowerday's use in the winery is on full display in this graceful, refined, pure expression of Pinot Noir from Marlborough. We at K&L have long considered TWR to be amongst the top producers in New Zealand and it seems the customers and critics agree, with these wines selling out very quickly after they come off the boat. Because this fruit is sourced from multiple sites as well as clones, it carries a great depth of flavor and intricate layers. Red and black fruits shine here, with a prominent dose of herb and crushed earth. The medium-body, fine tannin, and delicate fruit all meld seemlessly together to create a Pinot of unparalleled quality.
Top Value!

Page: 1 2 next