Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Muriel Sarik

Muriel Sarik

Reviews

2012 Bollinger "Grande Année" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-15-2020
Another great vintage of Grande Annee. This has all the characteristics I look for in a champagne, crisp, good acid, long finish and layers of complexity. There's a baked bread essence that softens the citrus and mineral flavors. The first word I thought off when I tasted this is PLUMP. Not fruity or flabby like over-ripeness can be but in concentration. Looks like 2012 is one of those vintages that is pleasurable to drink now but can be laid down for some time.
Price: $124.99 Add To Cart

2014 Louise Brison Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-14-2020
This is the best of Brison! It's rich, round and full bodied. Barrel fermenting added more complexity. Keep an eye out for the 2014 vintages — they're coming in a big way soon.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Krug "Grande Cuvée" 168ème Édition Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-13-2020
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
I believe Krug is the King of champagne! The Maison is meticulous and patient in making each bottling. We had a recent tasting of this wine and I think time in the bottle has made it richer and more delightful. This cuvée or blend is based on 2012, with adding enough reserve wines, going back to 1996 to make it superb. It's like adding spices or herbs to enhance a dish. AND they can age even longer!
Price: $169.99 Add To Cart

Franck Bonville "Prestige" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 02-13-2020
Franck Bonville champagnes are just incredible. They are delicately powerful, like opposite attractions. It's the blending balance that makes them work! On the nose it's rich aromas of pears and green to revisit the pears now toasty with some vanilla. This is from the lees, Bonville knows his lees!!!!!!
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2013 Franck Bonville "Millesime" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 02-13-2020
Franck Bonville champagnes are just incredible. They are delicately powerful, like opposite attractions. It's the blending balance that makes them work! I get subtle pears and almonds, hum!!!! 2013 is fresh and delicious.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Krug "Grande Cuvée" 167 Ème Édition Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-13-2020
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
I believe Krug is the King of champagne! The Maison is meticulous and patient in making each bottling. We had a recent tasting of this wine and I think time in the bottle has made it richer and more delightful. The cuvée or blend is based on 2011, which may not have been the best vintage in champagne but they add enough reserve wines, going back to 1995 to make it superb. It's like adding spices or herbs to enhance a dish. Our staff tastings can get pretty loud, but as we tasted this 167 Édition, we were so focused and concentrated that no one spoke. I thought I saw a few twinkles in some eyes and we all had smiles on our faces. This is a complex champagne, one to savor and contemplate. If you're a Krug fan you cannot miss out!

2008 Le Brun de Neuville "Grand Vintage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-13-2020
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
I have another update on the current release of this champagne.THE LABEL CHANGED BUT THE WINE IS THE SAME!!! More Chardonnay at 96% now and it seems to be fresher. What a great year and what a great champagne! Most 2008 champagnes are wonderful. . If you are a Blanc de Blancs fan, you're love this one. It's rich and flavorful. This may sound bizarre but this is a champagne that's visual for me. I see/feel threads of minerals closely knit with the acid and green apples that gives it depth and a smooth texture. I love the slight salinity on the nose.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 02-13-2020
Another great Grand Cru bottle at such a reasonable price, especially with 50% reserve wines which is almost never heard of. This is fresh and tart like grapefruit but has a roundness that softens that acidity to give it a tropical feel to the fruit. There is lots of minerals swirling in this bottle too. This champagne will hook you right at the very 1st sip!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie Reserve (formerly Carte Blanche) Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-13-2020
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
This Champagne is TRUE value and TRUE pleasure! After tasting this disgorgement, I am always in awe of how well made this champagne is. This time I found the aromas to be more floral with a subtle musky perfume. The work and time spent on making this alone is worth more than $29.99. It shows aromas of sourdough yeast and crisp green apple on the palate. The price allows one to buy a case for all the celebrating to be done from now until next year.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Baron-Fuenté "Esprit" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-13-2020
The Baron Fuente Esprit is actually 2 champagnes. They make a Brut Nature and a Brut. The difference physically is the sugar level in the dosage. Nature is as dry as is possible in a champagne and can be austere with very high acid. This one has tropical fruit aromas with a peach like fruit flavor with the dry minerality stepping in at the finish. The Brut has more citrus in the nose and the palette fruit is a bit more forward. For those interested this is a good comparison of how dosage can change the characteristics of champagnes.

Baron-Fuenté "Esprit" Brut Nature Champagne
Review Date: 02-13-2020
The Baron Fuente Esprit is actually 2 champagnes. They make a Brut Nature and a Brut. The difference physically is the sugar level in the dosage. Nature is as dry as is possible in a champagne and can be austere with very high acid. This one has tropical fruit aromas with a peach like fruit flavor with the dry minerality stepping in at the finish. The Brut has more citrus in the nose and the palette fruit is a bit more forward. For those interested this is a good comparison of how dosage can change the characteristics of champagnes.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2009 Baron-Fuenté "Grand Millesime" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-13-2020
Again, a Vintage champagne for $29.99! Baron Fuente never disappoints. This disgorgement of the 2009 vintage has a pretty perfumed nose. Ripe and smooth flavors and texture with a candied sweet/tart fruit finish.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Baron-Fuenté "Grande Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-13-2020
This is the best value champagne we have and it is absolutely delicious. I serve this a lot at home and it never seizes to amaze me how complex it is. Whether I'm cooking, eating or mingling this champagne keeps grabbing my attention to all its flavors and textures The added bonus is that we have 3 different sizes 375ml, 750ml and 1.5lt.

2007 Thiénot "Black Ball" Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 01-28-2020
This is a special release from a special producer at a special price for a special charity! A beautiful blanc de blancs from some hi end chardonnay vines. At this price, you can splurge and buy 2. A must buy!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2018 Te Mata "Bullnose" Syrah Hawke's Bay
Review Date: 01-16-2020
This is a lovely Syrah from Hawke's Bay. The nose has a beautiful fruit and spice combo, that continues on the palate and on to the finish. It is well balanced. The plump fruit is spicy and the acid is soft yet consistent.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2016 Leeuwin Estate "Art Series" Chardonnay Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 11-14-2019
This is one of my favorite Chardonnay from Australia. It's intense but not powerful. It has focus and layers of everything we love about Margaret River whites. It lingers in your mouth long after the bottle sis empty. Not sure if that is a good or bad thing! I'd like to revisit in a year or two. I bet it will be stunning!

Fallet-Dart "Clos du Mont" Brut Champagne (2004)
Review Date: 10-30-2019
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
This is a very special champagne from one of my favorite producers. I still can't believe the quality for just $79.99. It drinks like a fine Puligny-Montrachet only more acidic and with bubbles. This is my celebration champagne, because it's a special bottle but doesn't break the bank. It's also great to drink with whole meal.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2018 Matt Connell "Rendition" Pinot Noir Central Otago
Review Date: 10-30-2019
Another nice Pinot Noir from Central Otago, perfect for your Thanksgiving holiday. Makes me think of cranberry hard candy. Has enough acid and tartness to be a food wine. This will go with any food on that dining room, from turkey to sweet potatoes.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Le Gallais Cuvée du Manoir Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-10-2019
This is the last time I mention that Pinot Meunier is not my favorite grape in Champagne. This is delicious, 45% Meunier. Toasty, fresh and mineral, the whole package. Can't wait to try it again.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2008 Laurent-Perrier Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-08-2019
This is a lovely Champagne. All Grand Cru grapes, 50% Chardonnay and 50% Pinot Noir. A classic style in a great vintage, what could you ask for more?!
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Laurent-Perrier "Grand Siècle" Iteration #24 Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-08-2019
This is new for them to start using numbered bottlings, but I'm excited because we can be certain as to the vintages in the blend. The vintages that this blend consists of include 2007, 2006, and 2004. The grapefruit rind on the nose and minerals on the palate are interesting, but I always come back to delicate texture and elegant flavors. Beautiful!

Chateau de Bligny "Clos du Chateau Bligny" 6 Cépages Brut Nature Champagne
Review Date: 08-08-2019
This is the most aromatic Champagne I have ever had. Its perfume is heady and lingering. It is made from six different grapes, hence the name "Cuvée Six Cépages." The grapes are Pinot Noir, Chardonnay, Pinot Meunier, Arbane, Pinot Blanc, and Petit Meslier. It's exotic, powerful, and a must-try for any fan of Champagne.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2008 Lanson "Gold Label" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-08-2019
Another release of a great vintage and of Grand Cru fruit! NO malolactic fermentation, so if you love acid in your champagne you'll love this one. It has some toastiness on the nose and a long finish.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

2017 Hartford Court Russian River Valley Pinot Noir (375ml)
Review Date: 07-10-2019
This a pretty Pinot. Noir. It's a medium body wine so no jammy fruit here. It's balanced, has good acid and the fruit has an elegant touch. On the nose it has some savory notes. This kind of Pinot, at this price, doesn't come around very often. Get it will in stock!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

Boulard-Bauquaire "Carte Noire" Brut Blanc de Noirs Champagne
Review Date: 06-06-2019
This bottle was more of a visual experience for me, this is what I saw while tasting it. The pale golden color is enticing. The texture was like a large bolt of silk fabric rolling out, while a thread of salinity weaved about. This is a Blanc de Noirs lover's dream champagne.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

1995 Le Brun de Neuville "Grand Vintage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-09-2019
Drinking aged Champagne is a different experience than young ones. We describe them differently. They are more akin to an older white Bourgogne, like honey, waxy textures, mushrooms and earthy tones. It requires more thought or attention to appreciate the layers of complexity they have to offer. Most champagnes of this age cost much more than the $99.99. If this is the style you are in to, don't miss out!
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 05-08-2019
This is a fun and delightful rose. It's juicy red fruit and the long finish were the standout characteristics for me. Adding some red wine made the color even more appealing.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

Dérot-Delugny "Cuvée Fondateurs" Brut
Review Date: 05-08-2019
After 4 months of loving this bottle, I didn't think I had anymore to say but after tasting it again in a champagne line up I found it had matured and mellowed. It was a nervous champagne when I 1st tasted it. It is now most secure in what it is meant to be. WOW! This Champagne is so fun! 100% Pinot Gris and 100% Champagne. This is a legal grape in Champagne but not much is planted anymore. The nose has a lovely perfume of quince and the palate is a blast of fruit, more quince and pear, with the high acid dancing around on your tongue. The long finish gives up lots of limestone with finesse. A must try!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2012 Alexandre Le Brun "Cuvée Revelation" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-08-2019
I've made this staement before but I am not usually a big fan of 100% Meunier champagne. I like this as a blending grape to add savory and spice. HOWEVER, this one works for me. It could be the barrel fermentation.It could be the old vines. Who knows! I find the yeasty brioche nose quite appealing and an elegance I don't find in this style of champagne. It's pretty and floral, just plain YUMMY!
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

Fallet-Dart "Grande Sélection" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-08-2019
This is another gem in our collection of champagnes. Don't let the low price fool you. There is a lot of work that goes into each bottle. It's made of all estate fruit and 7 years aging on the lees gives it a luscious mouthfeel and toasty aromas and flavors throughout the pallete. Makes a great gift in a classic looking bottle for only $34.99
Price: $36.99 Add To Cart

2016 d'Arce, Côtes de Castillon
Review Date: 10-12-2018
This is a wonderful, easy drinking Bordeaux wine. I found it juicy and savory. Juicy because it had ripe fruit held up by some good acid and the savory notes were like poaching that ripe fruit in warm spices and herbs. What a treat at this price.

2002 Piper-Heidsieck "Cuvée Rare" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-03-2018
This champagne is not only "Rare" it is unique. It has a smokiness on the nose that I have never experienced before in a champagne, which turns into a lingering toasty flavor in the mouth. There is also a lovely texture on the mid palette that sits on your tongue, with just enough weight to make you stop and take notice. 2002 is such a great vintage which makes this exceptionally Rare!

Le Brun de Neuville "Authentique Assemblage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-08-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
We have so many wonderful Champagnes to choose from, that when one stands out I just have to tell everyone about it. The first word that comes to mind when I think of this Champagne is "balance," where all the components are in the right places. This is evolution in a flute. On the nose, the freshness is bright and lovely. It gains some weight after the second sip and becomes creamy on the mid-palate, due to 5 years aging on the lees. Then it has an extra long, intense finish, with a slightly tart aftertaste—as one gets from eating tropical fruit. This was written on 2/24/2017, I still feel this way except now this wine shows more time on the lees with more depth. So yummy!
Top Value!