Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 next >>
2017 Domaine de Verquière Rasteau
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 11/13/2019 | Send Email
Vigneron Thibaut Chamfort has been impressing us with all his wines for the last few years and has been a superb addition to our portfolio. His entry Cotes du Rhone remains one of our best selling Rhones. His two wines that always blow me away for pure QPR though are the Sablet and this little Rasteau here. More on the Sablet another time... Most of his Rasteau holdings sit on a plateau overlooking the Rhone. One site is fractured limestone gravel over chalky clay and the other is beige marl with river pebbles. The altitude and hillside exposure often give you wines that have a Chateauneuf feel but since they are from Rasteau, they generally don't hit Chateauneuf prices. Deeper berry fruit tones, purple flowers, spices, this has it all. It's hard to argue with Thibaut's continued successes, especially when they're right here in my glass.

Balcones "K&L Exclusive" Cask Strength Single Barrel #16003 Texas Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 11/13/2019 | Send Email
The nose on the Balcones is an explosion of tropical fruits and spices. From papaya, coconut and dried mango, it even draws out some intense coffee and vanilla notes with a bit of candied fig on the finish. The color is supremely dark for something this youthful, but there is no shortage of flavor here on this very impressive whisky.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

5 Sentidos Espadin "Batch ESALB01-19" K&L Exclusive (Alberto Martinez) Santa Catarina Albarradas Uncertified Oaxacan Mezcal (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 11/13/2019 | Send Email
When I think of Mezcal, I often drift into thoughts of American barbecue. In some regions of the US, the smokier the better. But I want to taste the meat, and that's exactly what brings me to one of the most impressive Mezcals I have tasted this year. The use of oak and acacia in the smoking process gives a subtle more refined character. This smoking and all the hand processing really allows the aromas and the flavors of the Espadin to shine through. Citrus, spice and that peppery vegetal tone accentuate the smoky palate. Don't think of this as a less smoky alternative though, think of it as a more appropriately smoked version. I am definitely putting this on the shelf of my home bar.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

2017 Domaine de Verquière Rasteau
Reviwer Picture By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 11/13/2019 | Send Email
If you're a fan of the Domaine's Côtes du Rhone, the Rasteau will knock your socks off. The flavor and structure bars are raised here, with a complex palate that brims with blackberries, dried figs and licorice, gentle tannins and a nose that shows savory herbs, roasted plums and salty Moroccan olives. I love the comforting hint of spice on the palate and the finish that lingers long after I've emptied the bottle. An impressive wine.

2017 Domaine de Verquière Rasteau
Reviwer Picture By: Will Blakely | Review Date: 11/13/2019 | Send Email
This wine is the sleeper of the season, and will definitely be the first bottle I think of for the upcoming holiday gatherings. Ripe yet refined, it exudes dried plum, juicy blueberry and raspberry, finishing with nutrient-rich earth and an edge of bitter cacao. Despite its big bold flavors, it remains remarkably light on its feet. The agility displayed here puts everything into stunning focus, allowing you to appreciate each facet individually as well as the full picture. This is one of those bargains you don't want to miss.

2017 Domaine de la Ganse Vacqueyras
Reviwer Picture By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 11/13/2019 | Send Email
With such a vast selection of enticing values from the Rhône to choose from, even a favorite can get lost in the shuffle sometimes. I'm so happy I decided to revisit this recently - I was quickly reminded why it's been one of my top picks since I first tried it a few years ago. What a scrumptious bottle of wine. Roasted plums, ripe blackberries and raspberries, a hint of black licorice, and spice and herbal notes, this is expressive and bursting with so much flavor and depth — a surefire hit at any dinner table or friendly gathering. Enjoy with garlic-heavy dishes - the Grenache fruit soars. Let's Ganse!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JD 91

2017 Domaine de la Ganse Vacqueyras (375ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 11/13/2019 | Send Email
With such a vast selection of enticing values from the Rhône to choose from, even a favorite can get lost in the shuffle sometimes. I'm so happy I decided to revisit this recently - I was quickly reminded why it's been one of my favorites since I first tried it a few years ago. What a scrumptious bottle of wine. Roasted plums, ripe blackberries and raspberries, a hint of black licorice, and spice and herbal notes, this is expressive and bursting with so much flavor and depth — these smaller format bottles are the perfect size for a "school night". Let's Ganse!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
JD 91

5 Sentidos Espadin "Batch ESALB01-19" K&L Exclusive (Alberto Martinez) Santa Catarina Albarradas Uncertified Oaxacan Mezcal (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Will Blakely | Review Date: 11/13/2019 | Send Email
This exemplary mezcal shows how time, dedication and impeccable technique can acheive some of the highest quality spirit imagineable, certified or not. Careful cultivation and handling of this Espadin yields something altogether different from the overcooked and ruddy tastes of high-volume cocktail-only mezcal. The flavors are immaculate and fresh, snapping into focus from the moment the liquid leaves the bottle. Piquant lime zest and mellow roasted roots up front transition seamlessly into chamomille, fresh herbs and green agave. On the back end, a meaty char and the requisite savory smoke give the feeling of serious weight, but all of it is held in perfect balance by a lingering mineral character that leaves the finish just as dry and crisp as the start. Honestly, it's dangerous how easily this goes down; pace yourself, but don't be surprised if you have to buy several bottles before this batch is gone.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

2014 Maison Louis Latour Puligny-Montrachet "Sous le Puits"
Reviwer Picture By: Thomas Smith | Review Date: 11/13/2019 | Send Email
There's two things I want to put right out there before I review this wine. First, I'm a sucker for Puligny Montrachet. Everyone has that one bottle of Burgundy that totally changed the way they feel about wine, that makes you obsess over a particular region or style, and that you may spend the rest of your days chasing, hopelessly trying to repeat. That wine, for me, is Puligny Montrachet. Second, and more simply put, I'm a total sucker for 2014 White Burgundy. The cut of acid, the clarity and focus, the beautiful, clear expression of site are all factors in what make this unanimously the best wine burgundy vintage in recent memory. With that said, this wine is awesome. The aromas intermingle light touches of citrus zest, white flowers, touches of honey, and poached pear. In following, this wine drinks spectacularly on the palate. Nimble and full of finesse, this balances rounder fruit tones where honey crisp apple and lemon curd come into full focus while keeping that characteristic Puligny lightning-in-a-bottle electric acidity. There's still freshness here, but the added complexity from bottle condition make it evident that this wine is drinking perfectly right now. This is one of those wines that is perfectly suited to my palate and tastes. This is proper wine.

2017 Oakridge "Henk Vineyard - Block 864" Pinot Noir Yarra Valley Victoria
Reviwer Picture By: Thomas Smith | Review Date: 11/13/2019 | Send Email
Oakridge Winemaker David Bicknell is Australia's master of Pinot Noir. His local vineyard series concentrates on sourcing small parcels of fruit from exceptional family-farmed vineyards. The Oakridge 864 is sourced from a small Pinot Noir block in the Upper Yarra Valley, Australia’s most recognized site for Pinot Noir. The Henk 864 showcases Bicknell’s exceptional hand with Pinot Noir, creating a wine that bridges power and focus with intricacy and detail. Black Cherry, strawberry and cranberry compote with delicate nuances of baking spice and flowers on the nose create a profile that is full of complexity detail and death. But this merely foreplay. This leads to a palate that is a tour de force of richly layered black and red fruit. Velvety and weighted, it manages to stay bright and balanced due to a laser sharp acid line that screams down the palate. The dynamics of this wine are just nuts. This is one of Australia’s very best offerings in Pinot Noir and a testament to the world class wines being crafted by Bicknell.

2017 Coudoulet de Beaucastel Côtes du Rhône Rouge
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 11/13/2019 | Send Email
The wines of Beaucastel never disappoint. Often the Chateauneuf can be a little out of reach for a good week night wine and that's where the Coudoulet comes in! I love the slightly more Mourvedre driven styles with more of the underbrush and smoky meat qualities that Mourvedre brings to the party. Brambly spices powered by cherry and strawberry fruit leads to savory notes on the finish. In a blind tasting, you might even think you're drinking the bigger brother but without the loftier price tag.

2015 Fratelli Revello Barolo
Reviwer Picture By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 11/13/2019 | Send Email
I love the nose of this wine, so full of spicy fruit, hints of earth, wisps of smoke and leather. On the palate the wine says Barolo but in a really forward and fruit filled way, the richness of the 2015 vintage comes through and makes this wine a really drinkable Barolo. The lushness of the wine is balanced by framing tannins that are soft but give structure. This may not be the wine you're looking to lay down for 20-30 years but if you'd like to drink one this Holiday Season I think you'll really enjoy this wine!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JS 95

2017 Liparita Rutherford Cabernet Sauvignon
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 11/13/2019 | Send Email
Maybe the most charming of the three wines we have offered to date, the Rutherford is the most elegant by far. It has wonderful red currant, cherry and spice tones. It has more of that old-school Napa charm that feels like a much more restrained wine. A few minutes in the glass and the wine opens with even more fruit on the palate. This is a bit more medium- to full-bodied than its predecessors but should fit beautifully on the table with a whole host of Holiday Meals, from richer fowl dishes to pork and even that standing rib roast.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2017 Domaine de la Ganse Vacqueyras
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 11/13/2019 | Send Email
The warm and charming Coralie Onde is always one of my favorite visits in the Southern Rhone. I first met her at an organic wine fair about 3 years ago and I immediately knew, she would be a great fit in our Direct Import program. The wine - and there was only one at the time - was her Vacqueyras and it was as engaging a wine as she is a person. She has since added a deluxe cuvee and will soon produce a white and rose now that she has expanded some of her holdings. But it is always this wine, the Vacqueyras, that speaks to me most. Old vines, planted over tiny pebbles and clay-limestone and surrounded by scrubby forest speak the terroir from the glass. Black cherry, dried raspberries, a whiff of bay and fennel are the aromas that erupt into the nose. Coralie's wines are perfumed but not over-the-top. She knows how to keep the focus and balance in the wine from growing up and working in her winemaking family. Striking out on her own several years ago, she has found her footing and I think the 2017 is her best wine to date. This is a beauty that will continue to grow and evolve just as much as the winemaker has. I look forward to checking in with this wine in a couple more years as well as with Coralie as we see what other treats she has to come.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JD 91

2016 Fritz Haag Brauneberger Juffer Riesling Spätlese Mosel
Reviwer Picture By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 11/13/2019 | Send Email
What a beautiful wine! The nose is absolutely intoxicating with floral and orchard fruit notes as well as a touch of wets stone and petrol. The palate is delightfully rich with cool orchard fruits and subtle spice notes while the finish echoes dried apricot notes. A balanced and nuanced Riesling that is capable of regaling the connoisseur and seducing the layman.
Top Value!

2017 Coudoulet de Beaucastel Côtes du Rhône Rouge
Reviwer Picture By: Gary Norton | Review Date: 11/13/2019 | Send Email
It's an impossible task to replicate the soaring heights that were achieved in vintages such as 2016, but if there's one stalwart up to the test its Beaucastel. The 2017 Coudoulet is another triumph that is hitting the shelves at the perfect time, as I can't think of another sub-$25 red that offers this level of quality, not to mention versatility. This is one of those rare gems that is light enough on its feet to pair with roasted turkey yet has the stuffing to serve next to a rack of prime rib. Say hello to your new favorite holiday dinner companion.

2014 Maison Louis Latour Puligny-Montrachet "Sous le Puits"
Reviwer Picture By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 11/13/2019 | Send Email
The 2014 vintage in White Burgundy just keeps on giving, winner after winner after winner. The 2014 Louis Latour Puligny Montrachet "Sous Le Puits" is a perfect example of the excellence of this vintage. The nose is a sexy blend of beeswax, lemon oil and hazelnut while the palate is silky with orchard fruits, citrus, brioche and saline notes. Fantastic energy and drive make this another great drinking 2014.
Drink from 2019 to 2019

2017 Coudoulet de Beaucastel Côtes du Rhône Rouge
Reviwer Picture By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 11/13/2019 | Send Email
Easily one of the greatest values year-in-and-year-out in the Rhone Valley the 2017 Coudoulet de Beaucastel Cotes du Rhone Rouge is a winner once again. This is basically "Baby Beaucastel" at an entry-level price. From the very first sniff from the glass the pedigree here is apparent, crackling red fruits, garrigue, spice and licorice notes dominate the nose while the palate is fresh, long and packed with spicy red fruit. This wine has amazing length and a dry, mouth-coating finish. An impressive wine that stands on its own and can easily age and mature over the next 15+ years to reveal greater depth and complexity.
Top Value!

2018 Bonny Doon Vineyard "Le Cigare Volant" Monterey County Rhône Blend
Reviwer Picture By: Neal Fischer | Review Date: 11/12/2019 | Send Email
Bonny Doon's Le Cigare Volant is a great, fun red Rhone-inspired blend. It's vibrant in its fruit character of mixed berries, but there are more layers going on here. I like the earthy tones that border on savoriness grooving into deeper spicy notes. I'm happy the winery brought Le Cigare Volant back into its repertoire, and at this price it's a new go-to weeknight red in my house.
Price: $19.95 Add To Cart
WE 93 VN 91

2017 Oakridge "Henk Vineyard - Block 864" Pinot Noir Yarra Valley Victoria
Reviwer Picture By: Neal Fischer | Review Date: 11/12/2019 | Send Email
I'm usually a big fan of Oakridge Pinots and this new bottling we got in from the Henk Vineyard is no exception. The nose opens with inviting floral aromatics, forest floor rancio, and spiced blackberry jam. The palate presents more tart berries and white pepper that transitions to white pepper with a little green leafiness. The finish is long with lingering cherries and baking spice.

Mal Bien Green Tape "Victor + Emmanuel Ramos" Batch 0518 Madrecuixe (A. Karwinskii) Mezcal (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Jackson Lee | Review Date: 11/12/2019 | Send Email
The nose on this was a cacophony of variously cooked fruits like charred pineapple, roasted strawberry and apple combined with underlying hint of vanilla (so weird), and pine forest as the more volatile esters dissipate. The palate doesn’t stray from the weirdness; it’s soft and sweet until the heat hits you at the end. In between you’re treated to kiwi fruit, blue cotton candy and another hint of that vanilla creaminess before you reach the finish. At the end it dries up like a cement sidewalk on a hot day, which nicely compliments the sweetness you get on the nose and palate. Definitely a fun mezcal you should pick up if you like the fruitier side of the spectrum.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

2015 Fratelli Revello Barolo
Reviwer Picture By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 11/12/2019 | Send Email
From the great 2015 vintage, this wine brings it with aromas of dried cherry and roses. On the palate you will find raspberries, tar, tobacco, truffle and a little Piedmont dust, with a soft tannin structure. I love the elegance and varietal purity of this Barolo. I will put some of these down as well, to drink sooner than later. I recommended decanting it for a couple hours and think it would show best with mushroom risotto or a tri-tip.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JS 95

2017 La Fortuna "Fortunello" Rosso di Toscano
Reviwer Picture By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 11/12/2019 | Send Email
Here is a wine that earned lots of stars from me. This is 100% Sangiovese and spent a few months in oak. The nose is classic, ripe cherries and strawberries with a hint of cocoa powder. On the palate of this full-bodied wine, you will find the fruit described above, plus a touch of minerals and soft tannins, which gives this wine a very lush feel to the palate and an incredibly long finish.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Fratelli Revello Barolo
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Moses | Review Date: 11/12/2019 | Send Email
Fresh crisp red fruit on the nose pairs with red floral tones and orange rind. The palate is bright, texturally seamless, and generous with rich red fruit and fine tannins. There is an elegance to Revello’s ’15 that pairs wonderfully with the accessible nature of the vintage. A great value from a vintage that will reward any Piedmont collector, it is very dynamic for a legit Barolo at this kind of pricing.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JS 95

2017 Liparita Rutherford Cabernet Sauvignon
Reviwer Picture By: Kaj Stromer | Review Date: 11/12/2019 | Send Email
Few wine offers in K&L history have been as hugely successful as our Liparita string of victories. This historical brand was resurrected by long time Napa native Spencer Hoopes as a way to produce sub-appellation designated, Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon from some of his best sources. This time around, we’re offering a $20 Napa Cabernet Sauvignon from Rutherford; land of the famed Rutherford dust. The appellation is in the center of Napa Valley and has been home to some of the regions most historic and world-renowned wineries such as Beaulieu Vineyards, Rutherford Hill, Raymond Vineyards, and the Inglenook Winery. The wine is fruit forward and generous displaying all the tell-tale Cabernet characteristics of black currants (cassis), blackberry, black cherry, dried herbs and a touch of cedar. This may be our last chance to go to the well for these amazing Cabernet Sauvignon values. Buy early and buy often. Come back for more before the party ends.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2018 Comte Louis de Clermont-Tonnerre (Alain Corcia) Ventoux Syrah
Reviwer Picture By: Mandana Tourani | Review Date: 11/12/2019 | Send Email
Plush, Juicey, textured and spicey. Dark lush ripe black currant, dried black cherries, Espresso, full body, almost chewy with crunchy tannins. Just simply one of the most delicious wines that you can't quit easily.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$9.99

2018 Eric Cottat Sancerre
Reviwer Picture By: Mandana Tourani | Review Date: 11/12/2019 | Send Email
Hello beauty! Freshly rained over grass on the nose, lively minerality, vivid acidity, Meyer lemons and just the perfcet classic Sancere that will pair with almost anything on that Thanksgiving table.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2018 Matt Connell "Rendition" Pinot Noir Central Otago
Reviwer Picture By: Mandana Tourani | Review Date: 11/12/2019 | Send Email
Silky, bright, beautifully balanced and delightful. Chocolate covered cranberris, dark cherries with a touch of vanilla on the finish. This wine has created a buzz and why wouldn't it when it has beauty, body and the personality.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
BC 95 SK 95

2018 Te Mata Gamay Noir Hawkes Bay New Zealand
Reviwer Picture By: Mandana Tourani | Review Date: 11/12/2019 | Send Email
Maybe it's a little unorthodox to go for Gmay Noir from New Zeland but being different could lead to discovering new and amazing things. This beautiful combination of light fruit and bright acidity wine, I found difficult not to love was an exciting surprise. So well structured and balanced. This light to medium red with red berries and a hint of Mocha could be just what your Holliday gatherings need.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2015 North Valley (Soter) "Reserve" Williamette Valley Pinot Noir
Reviwer Picture By: Mandana Tourani | Review Date: 11/12/2019 | Send Email
let me just say if you are someone who is very precise about their wine, they can be assured to get excited and fired up about this pinot Noir. Beautiful aromas of fresh raspberry, strawberry and sweet cherries. On the palate, it shows primary flavors of Dark candied cherry and pomegranate, followed by lush mocha and cocoa powder. The finish is smooth, long and polished.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
VN 93

2017 Liparita Rutherford Cabernet Sauvignon
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 11/12/2019 | Send Email
The latest wine in an unprecedented run of discounted Liparita Cabs found by our SoCal Domestic Buyer, Kaj. Again this delivers a rich, fruit forward, easy to like Cab for a serious value. Rutherford AVA for less than $20!? This crowd pleaser is sure to be another top seller heading into the holidays.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Crianza Rioja
Reviwer Picture By: John Majeski | Review Date: 11/11/2019 | Send Email
I'm always bemused by the fanciful fact that Senor de Lesmos never existed, but the wine, ah the wine, thankfully is very real and expresses all the generosity and character of traditional winemaking in Rioja. Rooted in the yellowed clay soils of Rioja Alavesa, the lustrous fruit for this wine consists mostly of Tempranillo, with a smattering of Mazuelo. Gently harvested clusters are rushed to the bodega, destemmed and then fermented in concrete tanks for almost a month before assembling in older barrels for aging. Upon release, this Crianza is beguiling and alluring, with notes of red and black fruits, spicebox, saddle leather and sweet tobacco. Ready to take on tapas, lamb skewers or a paella, this is a welcome and versatile wine for any occasion.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2017 Domaine Weinbach Riesling Alsace
Reviwer Picture By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 11/11/2019 | Send Email
For lovers of dry Riesling this wine has a lot to offer. It is balanced with nice fruit and dry honey and floral flavors, and a crisp finish. I thought that it was absolutely delicious with purity and energy. Great alone it will also go well with food. Domaine Weinbach is a top producer in Alsace and this wine show the quality and joy that gave this producer a well earned reputation.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

2018 Chehalem "INOX" Willamette Valley Chardonnay
Reviwer Picture By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 11/11/2019 | Send Email
This wine show cases the wonderful Chardonnay fruit of Willamette valley in Oregon. It is not aged in oak barrels and this allows the fruit to show its character and flavors. The Inox is round and pretty with focus and energy. It has bright fruit but is clean and has a nice crisp finish. This will compliment both fish and fowl dishes but is easy enough to drink alone.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2016 Mount Edward Pinot Noir Central Otago
Reviwer Picture By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 11/11/2019 | Send Email
This is an excellent Pinot Noir that is ready to drink now. It is bright and fresh with nice fruit flavors that are balanced and elegant. In a recent staff tasting it showed very well in the company of other first class New Zealand Pinot Noirs. Complex, soft and delicious, it will go well both alone and with food.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$24.99
JS 94

2018 Chateau Les Valentines "Le Caprice de Clementine" Cotes de Provence Rosé
Reviwer Picture By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 11/11/2019 | Send Email
Very classic Provençal Rosé. with beautiful aromatics, Framboise, citrus and a bit of peach even, but completely dry of course. Just delightful!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
W&S 92

2018 Veronique Anne Perret Vin de Savoie Apremont
Reviwer Picture By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 11/11/2019 | Send Email
Such a refreshing wine, with qualities that I fondly call "Alpiney" - It is crisp and dry, with notes of sweet peaches, and citrus. Absolutely perfection with light seafood indeed!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2015 Tormaresca "Neprica" Puglia
Reviwer Picture By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 11/11/2019 | Send Email
I find most intriguing when french grapes grown in Italy acquire that "Non so che cosa"that makes it uniquely Italian. The Neprica has just that with its Cabernet Sauvignon. Very nice and approachable wine that is ready to go on any party, dinner, picnic and anywhere else you might want to take it along.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2018 Quinta da Aveleda Loureiro-Alvarinho Vinho Verde
Reviwer Picture By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 11/11/2019 | Send Email
Quite simply the perfect wine for a springtime afternoon cocktail! Also just about perfect with light aperitifs.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2017 Domaine des Niales Rhedon-Marin Mâcon-Villages Vieilles Vignes
Reviwer Picture By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 11/11/2019 | Send Email
This is quintessential Chardonnay from the Mâcon, representing the best of fresh, bistro-style drinking. Crisp green apple, Meyer lemon, pretty white flowers and the zing of lip smacking acidity are all wrapped up in a tasty package with the wonderfully low price of $12.99. Purchase a case and keep it in your fridge for anytime pop-and-pour enjoyment.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2016 Two Shepherds "Fanucchi Vineyard" Russian River Valley Trousseau Gris
Reviwer Picture By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 11/11/2019 | Send Email
This wine took my breath away not only for being one of the most European-style wines I have ever tasted from California, but also for its delicate complexity. It looks, smells and tastes like a Jura wine, with what I call wild berries (petit fruit du bois), flint, exotic spices, and wild herbs. Quite crispy and tangy and with a depth of flavor that defies its lightness.
Price: $19.95 Add To Cart

2012 Domaine Serene "Yamhill Cuvee" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Reviwer Picture By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 11/11/2019 | Send Email
Delicate aromatics of cherries, cola and earth, with a very light touch of herbaciousness giving this wine a very elegant finish. It will dress up any dinner with a lighter fare of meats and a fantastic gift.

2017 Domaine de la Noblaie "Les Chiens-Chiens" Chinon
Reviwer Picture By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 11/11/2019 | Send Email
Picture perfect Cabernet Franc from the Loire Valley! Very pretty lifted aromatics that exudes violets, cassis, thyme along with crushed stones and a touch of pencil shavings. The palate follows with medium-body and very silky tannins. All that translates to perfect wine to pair with a great assortment of cuisines, spicy dishes, light meat, grilled tuna or salmon. Enjoy!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2016 Siaurac, Lalande de Pomerol
Reviwer Picture By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 11/11/2019 | Send Email
A great offering from Lalande-de-Pomerol, showing a robust core of ripe fruit but never heavy-handed. Beautiful aromatics of plums, berries, and coffee beans. They follow on the elegant palatealong with very polished tannins now. Very much a wine to enjoy now as it is already delicious and a great bargain for its quality.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 VN 91

2018 Domaine Cherrier Père & Fils Sancerre
Reviwer Picture By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 11/11/2019 | Send Email
This is classic Sancerre. Beautifully expressive and aromatic with citrus leading the way, followed by stone fruit and a hint of tropical fruit. The mineral profile is evident on the palate, displaying steely, flinty characteristics.This is a combination of fruit from all 3 terroirs that include gravel, clay and limestone. A best-seller for a reason!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2016 Trébiac, Graves
Reviwer Picture By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 11/11/2019 | Send Email
It might surprise some for its blend of 70% Merlot and 30% Cabernet Sauvignon, and it is delicious. A nose with fruit notes of cherry, plums and a touch of cola, along with an earthiness that is so typical of the best Graves wines. The palate shows its fruit in all its juiciness, but it doesn’t end there: spices and even a surprising note of salty minerality make sure this wine will be perfectly at ease at the table.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2018 Cave de Tavel "Lauzeraies" Tavel Rose
Reviwer Picture By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 11/11/2019 | Send Email
One of my favorite rosés of this season for sure. I find it full of flavor, with some richness, dry but not austere and just a pleasure to drink really. Grapefruit, Raspberries and lots of minerality.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2017 Domaine Charles Audoin Bourgogne Rouge
Reviwer Picture By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 11/11/2019 | Send Email
Generous strawberry and cranberry aromas and flavors enhanced by notes of wet earth, savory herbs and refreshing acidity. This is a substantial yet very graceful Pinot Noir that drinks wonderfully right now. Made with 100% declassified single vineyard fruit (young vines) from Marsannay, this is what well-crafted Bourgogne Rouge is all about. The perfect introduction for anyone looking to learn about Burgundy from the ground up.​
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2017 Fossil Point Edna Valley Pinot Noir
Reviwer Picture By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 11/11/2019 | Send Email
Our best under $20 domestic Pinot Noir has returned with a new vintage and it's better than ever. The palate has a hint of earth and is a nice concentration of red cherries and raspberries without being heavy. The bright balancing acidity lifts everything up and assists with a deliciously persistent finish. Our best- selling and most consistent value in the store. Fossil Point FTW!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

Montechiara Prosecco
Reviwer Picture By: John Majeski | Review Date: 11/10/2019 | Send Email
Prosecco is the Italian sparkler universally admired for its appeal as both aperitif and cocktail 'fizzer upper,' but Glera, the primary grape variety from which it is made, may have actually originated in Croatia or Slovenia. One legend reported by Ian D'Agata (Native Wine Grapes of Italy) has Glera as the source grape for 'pucinum', the famous wine adored by the Empress Livia Drusilla, wife of Emperor Octavian Augustus. Ok, enough long-winded history, the best way to enjoy Prosecco is not with your head buried in a dense though excellent wine book, but with wonderful friends and loved ones during the holidays or any day that calls for a festive, crisply delicious citrus, pear and apple inflected sparkler!
Top Value!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 next >>